Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Question, comment, minor complaint for the mods

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    lost between how it is and how it ought to be
    Posts
    6,841

    Default Question, comment, minor complaint for the mods

    As seen in this pic...
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	45 
Size:	92.5 KB 
ID:	202770
    In days gone by, clicking on the blue button (circled in red) would take you to, as indicated, the first new post of that topic. That is, the oldest, unread post in that topic.

    Now clicking on that button takes you to the oldest post in the topic, regardless of how many unread posts there are in that topic.

    I really liked the way it used to work, it eliminated me having to browse through topics trying to remember where I left off.

    Is there any chance we could get the old functionality back?

    FTR, I am using Firefox on Win 8.1. I have tried logging out, clearing browser cache and deleting cookies. None of that seemed to fix it.

    This behavior change happened some time ago, I apologize for not reporting it sooner.

    Thanks for all of your efforts in running a tight ship.

    peace,
    the Bean
    WWOD---What Would Opa Do? Farewell, my freind (sp)

    Never argue with idiots.
    They drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    lost between how it is and how it ought to be
    Posts
    6,841

    Default

    Almost two weeks, 120+ views and no replies?

    Three different computers using three different Windows versions all display the same behavior.

    Am I the only one experiencing this?

    Am I the only one who uses that blue button?

    Am I persona non grata?

    peace,
    the Bean
    WWOD---What Would Opa Do? Farewell, my freind (sp)

    Never argue with idiots.
    They drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    15,761

    Default

    Sorry, Bean! I don't think I have ever used that button. Probably due to the fact that I have the topics displayed starting with the newest post first....but then, that's just me..bassackwards Charlie

    Oh, Great! I push that button once and this is where it takes me!

    Name:  images.jpeg
Views: 139
Size:  12.4 KB
    Last edited by mrzippy; 04-29-2018 at 03:02 PM.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Klammath Falls, OR
    Posts
    3,849

    Default

    No, Mr. Bean, sir. I don't have that problem, so I can't even take a WAG at what the trouble is.
    Sorry

    Wow, Zippy! I haven't seen the Time Tunnel in a coon's age. Actually, more like a few coon's generations, really.
    I keep expecting the two guys to come running out of it...

    Have great times (pun intended) All!
    Pat☺

    Had a thought...then there was the smell of something burning, and sparks, and then a big fire, and then the lights went out! I guess I better not do that again!
    Sgt, USMC, 10 years proud service, Inactive reserve now

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    15,761

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PhantomTweak View Post
    No, Mr. Bean, sir. I don't have that problem, so I can't even take a WAG at what the trouble is.
    Sorry

    Wow, Zippy! I haven't seen the Time Tunnel in a coon's age. Actually, more like a few coon's generations, really.
    I keep expecting the two guys to come running out of it...

    Have great times (pun intended) All!
    Pat☺
    Not quite, Pat! I just opened the door to my imagination.

    You are traveling through another dimension, a dimension not only of sight and sound but of mind. A journey into a wondrous land whose boundaries are that of imagination. Your next stop, the Twilight Zone!
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 1996
    Location
    FlightSim.Com World HQ
    Posts
    3,406
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    I never actually tried that link before... most of you guys know the forums better than I do :-)

    I can tell you that the forum software has not been changed recently. Historically, when people have had complaints like this the cause is usually found to be that they made a setting change, sometimes unknowingly, and the forum is doing just what it's supposed to do.

    If you do have problems it's always best to report them directly to me right away, as that will make it easier to tie to any changes we might have made.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 1996
    Location
    North Pole
    Posts
    268

    Default

    Go to your account settings via the settings link at the top of the page.
    Then go to My Settings -> General Settings -> Thread Display Mode
    and adjust to suit...

    There is way more info in the FAQ.

    Regards,
    Rick

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11-13-2007, 01:08 PM
  2. Minor complaint with 3308 EHSI
    By RichLach in forum DreamFleet General Aviation Support Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-10-2005, 10:53 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-08-2003, 05:07 PM
  4. comment then a shot to prove comment
    By gjoseph14 in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-14-2003, 02:07 PM
  5. Sort of Complaint
    By Alpha in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-17-2002, 03:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •