Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Stutters Prepar3D V4.1 or V4.2 with i7 7700k and 2 Asus Nvidia GTX 1070, 32 GB RAM

  1. Default Stutters Prepar3D V4.1 or V4.2 with i7 7700k and 2 Asus Nvidia GTX 1070, 32 GB RAM

    Hi guys,

    I have problems with Prepar3D V4, V4.1 and V4.2 I tryed all vV4 versions. The problem? The famous stutters, the ones they make me ungry

    This is my computer:



    Windows 10 64 bits
    I7 7700K Overclocked to 4.8GHz
    Asus ROG Maximus IX Formula
    Water refrigeration.
    2 x Asus Nvidia ROG STRIX-GTX1070-O8G-GAMING (Working with SLI)
    G.Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 3200 PC4-25600 32GB 32GB CL14
    3 x Samsung 1Tb SSD

    I use all ORBX, PMDG 737, REX4, Active Sky + COuld Art Textures, Scenerys...

    Can someone who has more or less same computer help me withg settings (Nvidia Inspector o Nvidia Control Panel, *.CFG file AM yes or no...) or something to make my simulator work better and smoother?, I would really apreciate.

    Thanks a lot
    Last edited by xlarrasnow; 03-15-2018 at 11:39 AM.

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xlarrasnow View Post
    Hi guys,

    I have problems with Prepar3D V4, V4.1 and V4.2 I tryed all V4 versions. The problem? The famous stutters, the ones they make me ungry

    This is my computer:



    Windows 10 64 bits
    I7 7700K Overclocked to 4.8GHz
    Asus ROG Maximus IX Formula
    Water refrigeration.
    2 x Asus Nvidia ROG STRIX-GTX1070-O8G-GAMING (Working with SLI)
    G.Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 3200 PC4-25600 32GB 32GB CL14
    3 x Samsung 1Tb SSD

    I use all ORBX, PMDG 737, REX4, Active Sky + COuld Art Textures, Scenerys...

    Can someone who has more or less same computer help me withg settings (Nvidia Inspector o Nvidia Control Panel, *.CFG file AM yes or no...) or something to make my simulator work better and smoother?, I would really apreciate.

    Thanks a lot
    Show content of Prepar3d.cfg.

    Your reference to AM suggests you have been messing with things you oughtn't be messing with.

    Did you refresh the Prepar3d.cfg between versions? How did you update the versions?

  3. #3

    Default

    1. Turn off all add-ons and run default. Do you still see stutters? If so, check each add-on individually.
    2. Purchase a display(s) that can run at 30Hz refresh rate. Set to that and set FPS to 30.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Clutch Cargo View Post
    1. Turn off all add-ons and run default. Do you still see stutters? If so, check each add-on individually.
    2. Purchase a display(s) that can run at 30Hz refresh rate. Set to that and set FPS to 30.
    We need facts to resolve this. For example, REX4 is NOT for P3Dv4 unless its properly upgraded, so the summary provided by the OP is incomplete and insufficient for troubleshooting purposes. I doubt the simmer uses `all` ORBX products and many of them are NOT suitable for P3dV4 at the present time; we don't know whether it's the official PMDG version for P3Dv4, and there are many more facts about what is installed to be revealed.

    I propose the 30hz display is a futile measure and the fps may already be set to 30 - or 20, or 24 or unlimited.

    Prepar3d.cfg handily allows remote viewers to see what may have been done within the sim, and how that has been amended speaks volumes to level of competence.

    I suggest we wait for that information.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,708

    Default

    Just a clarifying comment...the statement "I doubt the simmer uses `all` ORBX products and many of them are NOT suitable for P3dV4 at the present time" is a little misleading.....I use all the ORBX products with P3Dv4 and they are all suitable with the exception of the aircraft which are still 32-bit processes.
    Intel 4790K @ 4.7Ghz, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 motherboard, Noctua NH-U12S cooler, Corsair Vengeance Pro 16GB 2133 MHz RAM, nVidia GTX 970 GPU, Cooler Master HAF 932 Tower, Thermaltake 1000W Toughpower PSU, Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit, and other good stuff.

  6. #6

    Default

    Well you are wrong. As previously stated most REX products are not P3D v4 compatible and are still be worked on. REX Weather ABSOLUTELY does not work as it does not display the weather correctly or the textures.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,708

    Default

    Read again what I wrote. I'm talking specifically about ORBX and nothing else. REX has nothing to do with ORBX. Be sure you're right before telling someone else they're wrong. Peace............Doug
    Intel 4790K @ 4.7Ghz, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 motherboard, Noctua NH-U12S cooler, Corsair Vengeance Pro 16GB 2133 MHz RAM, nVidia GTX 970 GPU, Cooler Master HAF 932 Tower, Thermaltake 1000W Toughpower PSU, Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit, and other good stuff.

  8. #8

    Default

    I had the same problem when I had my FPS to unlimited, I set it to 30 FPS and for some reason the problem went away.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Burbank CA USA
    Posts
    2,430

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smx55 View Post
    I had the same problem when I had my FPS to unlimited, I set it to 30 FPS and for some reason the problem went away.
    Well one reason could be that when you set fps to unlimited, the sim will try to maintain the highest fps at the cost of other processes which can easily result in stutters. That's a simplistic statement because there are other factors.

    A simple method to get started - set your fps at 20. Turn off ALL addons. now adjust your settings to get the smoothest operation. Now start adding the addons - adjust settings as necessary and aim for the LOWEST fps setting where you can maintain the SMOOTHEST operation. Repeat until you have all your addons etc.

    the 30mhz monitor is a good idea ONLY if you have your sim stable first. It won'[t help with the stutters at all on an improperly set up system other than having the user drop the frame rate.
    P3D Rig
    I7 7700K @ 5.0ghz Asus Maximus X270 16G G.Skill 3600 15-15-15-18 2T EVGARTX2080ti Corsair 1000W PSU 1TB Samsung SSD for P3D - 2 - 256G OCZ Vector SSD - HAF X - Corsiar H100i V2 Liquid Cooler W10 64 Pro.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vgbaron View Post
    Well one reason could be that when you set fps to unlimited, the sim will try to maintain the highest fps at the cost of other processes which can easily result in stutters. That's a simplistic statement because there are other factors.

    A simple method to get started - set your fps at 20. Turn off ALL addons. now adjust your settings to get the smoothest operation. Now start adding the addons - adjust settings as necessary and aim for the LOWEST fps setting where you can maintain the SMOOTHEST operation. Repeat until you have all your addons etc.

    the 30mhz monitor is a good idea ONLY if you have your sim stable first. It won'[t help with the stutters at all on an improperly set up system other than having the user drop the frame rate.
    Too true!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-01-2020, 04:31 PM
  2. Control doors with tailhook or wingfold keys
    By Men In Black in forum FS2004
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-20-2018, 09:48 AM
  3. Video Card Nvidia GTX 960 2 gb or Nvidia GTX 1050 ti 4 gb
    By PE 561 in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-22-2017, 02:05 AM
  4. Nvidia GTX 1080 and 1070 inbound...
    By mallcott in forum Prepar3D
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-07-2016, 04:59 AM
  5. Ram 4 GB, 8 GB or 16 GB
    By usb777 in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-22-2014, 11:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •