Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: 3 Monitors and frame rates

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    66

    Default 3 Monitors and frame rates

    What kind of a frame rate hit can I expect with three monitors in widescreen with 5760 x 1080 resolution. My system consist of an i7 920 processor OCed to 3.2. 12 GB DDR3 memory, Asus GTX 960 graphics with 4 GB DDR5 memory. The 3 monitors are each 24" Asus monitors. I am running FSX Steam Edition and most of the planes I fly are A2A warbirds and their Piper Comanche 250, my scenery is all ORBX. When I had one monitor I was consistently getting frame rates in the mid 30s, now with three monitors they are in the low teens to the low 20s.
    Last edited by BigT-65; 02-06-2018 at 10:18 PM. Reason: Spelling errors

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BigT-65 View Post
    When I had one monitor I was consistently getting frame rates in the mid 30s, now with three monitors they are in the low teens to the low 20s.
    That sounds about right. I will be surprised if you can sustain low 20s in weather.
    MarkH


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Weather isn't presenting too much of a problem but big cities and airports do. Frame rates get down to less than 10. I have just moved to a new house and once I get settled in I am going to upgrade my computer in hopes of fixing this.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BigT-65 View Post
    Weather isn't presenting too much of a problem but big cities and airports do. Frame rates get down to less than 10. I have just moved to a new house and once I get settled in I am going to upgrade my computer in hopes of fixing this.
    Budget for an I7 6700+ level CPU and GTX1080 if you do.

  5. #5

    Default

    I really don't think you need a 1080. Those are super expensive due to the miner craze. I reckon all you need is a GTX 1050 TI 4 GB. This is what I have with two monitors. Albeit, I don't expand FS on both monitors. I use the second monitor for LittleNavMap and music while I fly.

    My forum project
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    Why Windows 10 suxx
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    66

    Default

    I appreciate the advice. I was considering this though. Intel i7-7700K 4.2 GHz processor, Asus Prime Z370-A motherboard and Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200. I was planing to keep my 960 graphics card. Any thoughts on this?

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BigT-65 View Post
    I appreciate the advice. I was considering this though. Intel i7-7700K 4.2 GHz processor, Asus Prime Z370-A motherboard and Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200. I was planing to keep my 960 graphics card. Any thoughts on this?
    BigT,

    I see you've zoomed in on the big issue with FSX and that is CPU speed!! The 7700K with DDR4 3200 is certainly a good call. Though not seeing it mentioned, liquid cooling really works so you can Turbo your chip up to 4.8 or so and it stays happy.

    I can't comment on the 960. I know nothing about it. But one thing I truly recommend is that whatever GPU you use be a NVIDIA model. From my experience, across the cards I've tried, the NVIDIA eyefinity software handles multiple screens better than any I've seen. And that's for other PC functions as well as flight simulation. And don't forget the PSU. Considering the low cost of PSU wattage compared to what else you're spending I'd recommend you go with at least 650 watts!

    BTW: I love my 7700K!!

    Rupert
    Last edited by Rupert; 02-10-2018 at 11:51 AM. Reason: add info

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    1,772

    Default

    I have the GTX 960, and while it's a solid performer on my single monitor, I actually, especially now that I also have P3D, could wish for something faster. And I am aiming at the GTX 1080Ti..... and 3200 MHz RAM!

    Jorgen

  9. #9

    Default

    You will more than likely not see any difference with RAM speed.

    My forum project
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    Why Windows 10 suxx
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

  10. #10

    Default

    Good luck finding a 1080Ti. The bit coin miners and such are gobbling up the video cards at such a high rate that production can not keep up and the prices are skyrocketing.

    I also love my i7-7700k overclocked to 4.8Ghz. Solid performing processor. I recommend it highly.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Changed monitors Low frame rates
    By alan081954 in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-04-2005, 07:02 PM
  2. Changed monitors Low frame rates
    By alan081954 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-04-2005, 05:55 PM
  3. Multiple Monitors- reduce frame rates?
    By Vonduck1 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-22-2005, 10:51 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-13-2003, 09:31 PM
  5. Clouds and frame rates
    By gets in forum FS2002
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-12-2002, 05:53 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •