Whoah!

linc278

Hi all. I have been a member here for a long time but seldom post. I have been a user of the Microsoft product since it's inception and am still a fan of FS9 due to the tremendous amount of third party add-on material available. This site routinely pops up a window saying I'm one of the top downloaders of all time, lol! I actually never did move up to FSX as I had read that FS9 was really a better simulator than FSX. Having said that, I just recently purchased Xplane 11 and loaded up all 60 gig of it last night. Now this is a different animal. Although I have just been up in the air about three times I can already say I am very impressed with the execution of this sim. Very nice clear detail all around. The cockpits are outstanding although I am still learning the view controls to be able to see and activate the needed switches, etc. I had read that the flight physics were more accurate than the Microsoft product and, although I am not a real world pilot, I do notice that the characteristics of the aircraft in flight do feel different---hard to put a finger on yet. The scenery I have seen so far is really nice--especially the better looking mountains. I live near Calgary, Alberta in the foothills of the Rockies so I want the mountains to look right. Xplane has achieved some very nice mountain terrain from what I have seen so far. I am about to download some scenery libraries and some custom scenery to see what can be had with this very intriguing flight sim. Anyone who is hesitating making the jump to Xplane should just go for it. It's very cool. My machine is an i7 6700 @3.4 Ghz. 64 bit, 16 Gb of RAM. I am using a Nvidia GeForce GTX 960 video card. So far things are running smooth although I have no traffic yet. I'm just getting my feet wet at this point but will probably post again.