X-Plane 11 downloadable planes

vul75002

I am very new to X-Plane. I have the X-Plane 11 demo and I am trying to understand the controls and keyboard functions. I have been a MS Flight Sim user for over 20 years and I know that program quite well. This sim is so very different.

I haven't decided to actually purchase this sim because my big concern is how much available free planes, scenery and fields are available for downloading? And from what sights are these available? I don't plan on buying downloadable anything and if this is not an option then this sim is not for me.

Another concern is; are planes, scenery and fields that are labeled for X-Plane 8, 9, 10, etc., can those be used on X-Plane 11.xx without issues?

Thanks for your help.

RB

Just check out X-Plane.org the XP community is pretty active with creating freeware aircraft and scenery that it some cases is much better than payware versions.

As far as compatibility between the versions, yes and no. A lot of XP10 aircraft and scenery is compatible, you just have to try it and see. If its payware then it will be labeled as compatible with XP11 if it is.

• Founder

You should start by looking at the file library right here at FlightSim.Com. We currently have over 8000 X-Plane compatible files, which is more than enough to keep you busy :-) While it certainly does not compare with what's available for FSX, X-Plane is still well supported. If you watch our news and reviews you will also see plenty of commercial X-Plane products being released on a regular basis.

As for compatibility, in general you can use add-ons from one version back from the version you are running; i.e., XP10 add-ons will work with XP11. It's often possible to get older add-ons to work as well; we even have a tutorial on the subject:

https://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/content.php?16380-Tutorial-Upgrading-Aircraft-in-X-Plane

Thanks to all for the replies. How far back in versions can I import X-Plane files into the new version 11?