Lest We Forget

Those of you who follow news in Britain might be aware that within the last few days a Cessna 152 and an undisclosed helicopter collided over Buckinghamshire causing the deaths of all four people aboard the aircraft. Witnesses report a loud bang and debris spiralling down over a wide area.

Until half an hour ago that was merely another tragic news headline. Flying is inherently risky. The skies unforgiving when something goes wrong. I already knew that. Having flown as a private pilot I was well aware of the risks and indeed I'd experienced a few close calls myself, though like aviators tend to do, I made light of the potential consequences. To do otherwise would harm my self confidence as a pilot. But there, on the television screen, one casualty of the incident was named and his picture displayed. Someone I had known.

I'm not normally given to tributes or emotionalism on the internet. The facile nature of many personalities and exchanges mitigates against it, but there is something important to be said here. Captain Mike Green ran the company in whose hands I learned to fly. He was a genial and energetic personality, one who was always encouraging toward students and I remember also the trust he placed in me once I had qualified. Once he asked me about the weather. He was due to make a charter flight and knowing I had driven down from the direction he would be heading, he was keen to know how low the cloud base was. I told him that Liddington Hill was obscured, and with a characteristic chuckle, a roll of the eyes, he told me he'd be calling that flight off.