Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: Moving Throttle Controls in 747

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    701

    Default Moving Throttle Controls in 747

    My 747-400 tends to creep forward in a runway hold position, even though the brakes are on. I began poking around and I see that the default position for all four throttles is full open. I suspect that may by the problem. I can't seem to move the four throttle levers to a more fully closed position. How do I do that?

    FSX.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    14,740

    Default

    Are you using any type of controller...Joystick or yoke and levers assembly? Ctrl+Shift+F1 to move levers to idle....does that work? Are you flying a default 747?
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    701

    Default

    Thanks for the quick comeback. It's one of the default 747's. I am using a joystick but the throttle control on the joystick is all the way down to fully closed. I'll try Ctrl+Shift+F1. SB

  4. Default

    Switch off the autothrottle.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    701

    Default

    Ctrl+Shift+F1 closes down the fuel supply to all four engines, but the throttle handles remain at fully open position. Is that as good as I can get it?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    701

    Default

    Switching off autothrottle. SB

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    701

    Default

    The autothrottle was on and I switched it off. The plane still creeps forward, even though brakes are set.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    701

    Default

    Hold it - After some more tinkering, I think the autothrottle switch was the answer. With it off, I can watch all the throttle levers move by moving the throttle lever on the joystick. Thanks a lot!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    701

    Default

    Should autothrottle remain off the entire flight?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    14,740

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pdmike View Post
    Should autothrottle remain off the entire flight?
    Turn on auto throttle after takeoff when you engage heading and altitude hold.

    My routine is as follows: After getting clearance from Clarence, I dial in the runway heading, and altitude given by ATC into the A/P. I then get taxi clearance and proceed to the runway hold short.
    After takeoff clearance from Tower, increase throttle manually, turning onto the runway and apply takeoff thrust. After wheels up I then engage the A/P, Heading Hold And Altitude hold and turn on the A/T, which is set for 250 knots.

    A/P and A/T should never be turned on until after takeoff.
    Last edited by mrzippy; 11-11-2017 at 05:02 PM.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Real Cessna throttle controls
    By gaftp in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-21-2007, 04:28 AM
  2. Throttle controls
    By davlawsr in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-26-2005, 07:40 PM
  3. power controls altitude, pitch controls airspeed.........
    By Peter KCLE EDDN in forum DreamFleet 727 Support Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-22-2004, 04:52 PM
  4. Prop controls moving, why?
    By mitch1998 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-09-2004, 06:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •