Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Power Supply and USB Usage

  1. #1

    Default Power Supply and USB Usage

    I read somewhere the power supply to the USB ports might be a little over taxed and could be a possible reason my Saitek X52 Pro looses calibration in mid-flight. Either why, I have a Corsair 750W power supply but I have let's see, the wireless mouse, Saitek Rudder Peddles, Saitek Pro Yoke and Throttle Quadrant, Saitek Switch Box, Saitek Separate Throttle Quadrant, Two cables from the Logitech Key board and the Saitek X52 Pro. I believe that is it. I am running the X52 through my registered FSUIPC as well as the rudder but not the brakes. I have upgraded my Video Card the the GeForce GTX 1070. Maybe I need to get a bigger power supply? Oh, I am running three monitors as well. I added the second Throttle Quadrant since this picture.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Flight Simulator Build.jpg 
Views:	58 
Size:	123.2 KB 
ID:	199910
    Mike G.
    Intel Core i7-4770K, ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO Motherboard, , 8GB Memory , EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 6GB Video Card,Corsair Enthusiast 750W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply,Windows 7 64bit, Corsair Hydro Series H55 CPU Cooler

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Warren, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    12,114

    Default

    It's not the power supply, it's the fact that USBs can only provide so much power. You need to purchase an external USB hub and spread some of those USB devices out.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Bloomington, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    456

    Default

    A powered external USB hub, one with its own AC adapter, would be in order, to get the extra juice for all those devices.

  4. #4

    Default

    Cool, thanks! I found a Saitek (Or similar) power supply for the Saitek Yoke at Amazon. the Yoke has three ports. Do you think that would spread the load out enough?
    Last edited by usb777; 10-11-2017 at 11:24 AM.
    Mike G.
    Intel Core i7-4770K, ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO Motherboard, , 8GB Memory , EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 6GB Video Card,Corsair Enthusiast 750W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply,Windows 7 64bit, Corsair Hydro Series H55 CPU Cooler

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    300 mtrs S.W. Of ID85, Elk River ID
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Greetings all,
    Quote Originally Posted by usb777 View Post
    Cool, thanks! I found a Saitek (Or similar) power supply for the Saitek Yoke at Amazon. the Yoke has three ports. Do you think that would spread the load out enough?
    It MIGHT, but you'd need to confirm what sort of power it can actually provide. The folks from GoFlight have a list of powered hubs they recommend and have tested with their power hungry equipment. I'm running a D-Link 7 port hub from that list, DHUB-H7 (part # BUBH7LB D1) and haven't had any issues. I think I paid US$25 from New Egg.

    Respectfully,
    Brian

  6. #6

    Default

    I will look into it, thanks. The issue I am having with the X52 might be something else to since it just started screwing up in flight and when it does it throughs all the other controls out of wack to except for the assignments running through the FSUIPC. I am just now learning to use it but have changed at least all the button assignments through it. Still having trouble with the brakes, hat channel, and the X52 axis assignments.
    Mike G.
    Intel Core i7-4770K, ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO Motherboard, , 8GB Memory , EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 6GB Video Card,Corsair Enthusiast 750W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply,Windows 7 64bit, Corsair Hydro Series H55 CPU Cooler

  7. #7

    Default

    Since ALL of it gets the 'juice' from the wall outlet, don't forget that Coffee Machine kicking in and draining the power available at the wall jack. And some lights will burn 100 Watts and drain it some more. Is your 50 inch TV also on? Fans? Stereo? All adds up!

    With more than 3 USB connections you do need a QUALITY (cheap ones don't have the amps - at 5 volts) and POWERED (own AC brick) USB Hub. USB ports don't burn up - that is why you can 'stress' them - they just 'throttle down' (reduced current=equiptment ineffective function - your 'case'). E=IxR. E=MC2 (hehe).
    Chuck B
    Napamule
    i7 2600K @ 3.4 Ghz (Turbo-Boost to 3.877 Ghz), Asus P8H67 Pro, Super Talent 8 Gb DDR3/1333 Dual Channel, XFX Radeon R7-360B 2Gb DDR5, Corsair 650 W PSU, Dell 23 in (2048x1152), Windows7 Pro 64 bit, MS Sidewinder Precision 2 Joy, Logitech K-360 wireless KB & Mouse, Targus PAUK10U USB Keypad for Throttle (F1 to F4)/Spoiler/Tailhook/Wing Fold/Pitch Trim/Parking Brake/Snap to 2D Panel/View Change. Installed on 250 Gb (D. FS9 and FSX Acceleration (locked at 30 FPS).

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by napamule2 View Post
    Since ALL of it gets the 'juice' from the wall outlet, don't forget that Coffee Machine kicking in and draining the power available at the wall jack. And some lights will burn 100 Watts and drain it some more. Is your 50 inch TV also on? Fans? Stereo? All adds up!

    With more than 3 USB connections you do need a QUALITY (cheap ones don't have the amps - at 5 volts) and POWERED (own AC brick) USB Hub. USB ports don't burn up - that is why you can 'stress' them - they just 'throttle down' (reduced current=equiptment ineffective function - your 'case'). E=IxR. E=MC2 (hehe).
    Chuck B
    Napamule
    Thought about that as well and actually running of a circuit from my bedroom that only has an alarm clock and lamp. It was working fine until last week. Trying the X52 on the other computer and of course it work fine.
    Mike G.
    Intel Core i7-4770K, ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO Motherboard, , 8GB Memory , EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 6GB Video Card,Corsair Enthusiast 750W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply,Windows 7 64bit, Corsair Hydro Series H55 CPU Cooler

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by napamule2 View Post
    Since ALL of it gets the 'juice' from the wall outlet, don't forget that Coffee Machine kicking in and draining the power available at the wall jack. And some lights will burn 100 Watts and drain it some more. Is your 50 inch TV also on? Fans? Stereo? All adds up!

    With more than 3 USB connections you do need a QUALITY (cheap ones don't have the amps - at 5 volts) and POWERED (own AC brick) USB Hub. USB ports don't burn up - that is why you can 'stress' them - they just 'throttle down' (reduced current=equiptment ineffective function - your 'case'). E=IxR. E=MC2 (hehe).
    Chuck B
    Napamule
    I think I am getting the picture. The one I ordered for the Pro Yoke is 5amps.
    Mike G.
    Intel Core i7-4770K, ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO Motherboard, , 8GB Memory , EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 6GB Video Card,Corsair Enthusiast 750W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply,Windows 7 64bit, Corsair Hydro Series H55 CPU Cooler

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Warren, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    12,114

    Default

    Mike,

    Don't be concerned with anything else plugged into that same circuit. Any home built in the last 100 years has plenty of power in every circuit to power anything on that circuit. If there is an overload for any reason the circuit breaker will trip. Sometimes you need to sift through the bs to pull out nuggets of truth.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. CPU usage And PF usage
    By hprass in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-19-2006, 06:34 AM
  2. Video Card and Power Supply
    By cwtiger in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-15-2004, 11:24 PM
  3. Get a goog power supply and avoid problems
    By Localizer in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-18-2004, 12:29 AM
  4. Dell Dimension 8200 and power supply
    By dkramer in forum FS2004
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-23-2003, 08:48 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-26-2003, 09:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •