Default FSX 737 Autopilot - manual heading control

BlueSox14

Hi all,

I could use some clarification around the use of the default FSX 737 autopilot in respect of heading control (I'm new to the heavies).

I've been using the Secret Shuttle mission as a test.

After successful takeoff, I arm the auto-throttle and turn on the auto pilot.

I turn on the Altitude control and Speed control autopilot functions only. I do not turn on and of the NAV functions.

I find that I'm unable to control the heading of the aircraft manually when autopilot is engaged (even though none of the NAV functions are engaged).

Is this normal operation of the default FSX 737? Does this mean when the autopilot is engaged, the only way to control manual direction is to enable the HDG autopilot function and use the heading selector bug?

Thanks everyone,

Trent

Sounds as if the wing leveler is engaged (this is normal). There's probably a button on the autopilot control to toggle this, but you can also use CTRL-V to toggle the wing leveler.

Larry N.

As Skylab would say:

Remember: Aviation is NOT an exact Science!

Ha ha! The unseen wing leveller! This autopilot button doesn't exist on the default 737 2d panel or virtual cockpit so I had no idea what was going on...

I've tried again, used ctrl + v and that did the trick. Google searches for "FSX autopilot wing leveller" have yielded better results and I now know that I can edit the aircraft.cfg file to have this disabled by default anytime I engage the autopilot.

However, I'd like to ask if anyone knows of any panel / virtual cockpit fixes for this, ie. the addition of the wing leveller button?

Probably not, but it can't hurt to ask right?

Thanks everyone! I was tearing my hair out there for a little while...

Trent

Ha ha! The unseen wing leveller! This autopilot button doesn't exist on the default 737 2d panel or virtual cockpit so I had no idea what was going on...