Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Dtxbmp problem

  1. #1

    Default Dtxbmp problem

    I've been using Dtxbmp for years but it has just started saving 1024 x 768 bitmaps to 1024 x 1024. I've done nothing to it. How do I get it to revert to saving as 1024 x 768 bitmaps like it used to ?
    Thanks.

  2. Default

    I have the same problem & couldn't fix it, if the textures need to be saved as 24bit bmp then just use Microsoft Paint.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    lost between how it is and how it ought to be
    Posts
    6,706

    Default

    DXTBmp has never saved to 1024x768 because that size is not recognized by FS.

    DXTBmp will always resize to a compatible pixel count, which is one that is a power of two.

    32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, 2048, 4096

    24 bit color depth has nothing to do with pixel count.

    peace,
    the Bean
    WWOD---What Would Opa Do? Farewell, my freind (sp)

    Never argue with idiots.
    They drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

  4. #4

    Default

    I've been using it for 7yrs or longer & load from FS9, edited via paint & saved it straight back to the texture folder I got it from with no problem. The bitmaps in a A320 panel are 1024x768 & have always been saved as that.....................

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    932

    Default

    StringBean is right, DXTBmp will always convert a 1024x768 bmp to 1024x1024 if you open the bmp with it.
    You've probably associated all bmp files with DXTBmp so that when you double-click on them, they open with DXTBmp automatically. I've done the same and it catches me out from time to time!
    If you right-click on the bmp file and then select Open with/Paint, it will stay 1024x768 size.

  6. #6

    Default

    No, I been using dtxbmp for years to make bitmaps usable in fs9 & I do use paint a lot. I've made 25 or so WW2 airfields & have never come across this particular problem.
    I've run a texture through dtxbmp 2 or 3 times to rectify the fault that cropped up & that seems to have done the trick..

  7. #7

    Default

    Hi,

    Panel BMP files ARE COMPLETELY DIFFERENT from any other BMP file used in FS. They can remain 24 bit (unlike all the others) and do not need to be a power of 2. Thus they do not need to be run through DXTBmp (and shouldn't).

    Hope this helps,
    Tom Gibson

    CalClassic Propliner Page: http://www.calclassic.com

  8. #8

    Default

    HI,

    I've found that to get rid of these black marks round the window edges I can do so by running the texture through dtxbmp at least twice to get rid of them.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	grab_037.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	331.3 KB 
ID:	199281  

  9. Default

    That kind of problem is generally caused by reducing to too few a number of colours. Change those notchy bits to completely black and not dark grey and you will not see them.

    John

  10. #10

    Default

    I got rid of the black areas (they were black not dark grey) after running it twice through dtxbmp.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. xp-problem or driver problem?
    By mikealpharomeocharlie in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-05-2003, 02:01 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-02-2002, 07:04 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-07-2002, 04:10 PM
  4. paint problem / aircraft problem???
    By gurn in forum FS2002
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-08-2002, 09:43 AM
  5. agp 4x problem and directx problem
    By donationware in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-06-2001, 08:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •