Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: DHC-2 Beaver sounds

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Blue Mountains, Australia
    Posts
    324

    Default DHC-2 Beaver sounds

    Could someone please advise me where to find the sound files for the various sounds heard both in the cabin (DHC-2 Beaver float plane) and outside especially the files for the 'splashing' sound made as the aircraft moves through the water at speed just before liftoff and just after touchdown,
    I would like to either replace the file or modify it.

    I have 'played' every sound file in the SOUND folder for the DHC-2 and although I realise that it could be a file of say a single splash which is 'played' fast continuously I cannot work out which one it is.
    I assume that sound file is there somewhere as it is aircraft specific - no other float planes make this terrible sound.

    I have tried to work it out using the sound.cfg file and the Microsoft Sound Configuration Files description without success.

    If it is somewhere else please advise.

    Thanks heaps
    Last edited by jparnold; 07-17-2017 at 04:53 AM. Reason: add text
    Gigabyte GA-H87M-HD3 m/b CPU: Intel Core i7-4770 3.40 Ghz
    Memory: Single 8Gb DDR3 1600 ram
    Video - Radeon HD6770 1Gb ram
    Operating System: Windows 7 64bit Home Premium

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    14,313

    Default

    That sound file you are looking for is waterloop.wav and should be in your main Sound folder of FSX.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  3. #3

    Default

    I use Beaver sound for race cars (driveable vehicles) and I don't WANT 'ground roll', etc sounds as it gets annoying. Or 'scrape' sound. So I edit sound cfg like below.

    //----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    // Files in sound.cfg to change to eliminate 'non combution' sounds: Use 'silence.wav':
    //----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    [NON_COMBUSTION.1.00]
    filename=silence //deBev_NonCombust1

    [NON_COMBUSTION.1.01]
    filename=silence //deBev_NonCombust2

    //[NON_COMBUSTION.1.02]
    //filename=silence //xdeBev_NonCombust1

    //[NON_COMBUSTION.1.03]
    //filename=silence //xdeBev_NonCombust2

    //[WIND_SOUND]
    //filename=silence //wind3

    [LEFT_TOUCHDOWN]
    filename=silence //cmtouch1, cmtouch2, cmtouch3

    [RIGHT_TOUCHDOWN]
    filename=silence //opencockpit_touchdown03, opencockpit_touchdown04

    [CENTER_TOUCHDOWN]
    filename=silence //cmtouch7, cmtouch8

    [GROUND_ROLL]
    filename=silence //cnroll2

    [GROUND_ROLL2]
    filename=silence //cnroll

    [GROUND_ROLL3]
    filename=silence //cnroll3

    [GROUND_ROLL4]
    filename=silence //cnroll4

    [GROUND_ROLL5]
    filename=silence //cnroll5

    [GROUND_ROLL6]
    filename=silence //cnroll6

    //----- HERE IS YOUR WATER LOOP ----
    [GROUND_ROLL7]
    filename=waterloop

    [FUSELAGE_SCRAPE]
    filename=silence //smblylnd

    //------ cnt pts (floats) SOUND ---------------
    //As you can see in cnt pts the 'sound' (pt 13) for floats is '2, 3, 2, 3' and those are GEAR sound -- not float sound: Change 'sound' (pt 13) to '4, 4, 4, 4'.

    Now try the Beeve on water. It won't even make noise when you hit the 'shore' hard. Let me know how it went. Feedback is apreciated. Our LOGO: 'We Fix FSX - In A Wink' (I just made it up -hehe).

    Chuck B
    Napamule
    i7 2600K @ 3.4 Ghz (Turbo-Boost to 3.877 Ghz), Asus P8H67 Pro, Super Talent 8 Gb DDR3/1333 Dual Channel, XFX Radeon R7-360B 2Gb DDR5, Corsair 650 W PSU, Dell 23 in (2048x1152), Windows7 Pro 64 bit, MS Sidewinder Precision 2 Joy, Logitech K-360 wireless KB & Mouse, Targus PAUK10U USB Keypad for Throttle (F1 to F4)/Spoiler/Tailhook/Wing Fold/Pitch Trim/Parking Brake/Snap to 2D Panel/View Change. Installed on 250 Gb (D. FS9 and FSX Acceleration (locked at 30 FPS).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Blue Mountains, Australia
    Posts
    324

    Default

    Thanks Mr Zippy and Chuck.

    I was thinking the waterloop audio file but and thought that perhaps the speed of play was faster but it didn't seem right.

    Chuck I want to retain sounds of the floatplane 'splashdown' and also when at speed on the water but not like it currently sounds. I looked at a Premier Aircraft DH23 TURBO Beaver and noted when at speed on the water it sounds quite acceptable also with the FSX Grumman Goose and tried to compare to make sense but couldn't.
    I will try the settings you showed and get back later.

    ADDED LATER
    I changed the sound filenames to SILENCE as per your example which made NO difference. I then change the sound file name from WATERLOOP to SILENCE in [GROUND_ROLL7] and the 'horrible' sound went away. Note that it only becomes 'objectional' when the IAS is 80 or above.
    I did notice though in the sound.cfg the sections [NON_COMBUSTION.1.02] and [NON_COMBUSTION.1.03] as well as [WIND] are all 'commented out' eg lines start with // yet that is the way they are with a fresh install of FSX.
    I compared all the settings for the [ground_roll] section which uses waterloop with the Grumman Goose and they are the same except for the min/max volume.
    It beats me.


    Thanks again.
    Last edited by jparnold; 07-17-2017 at 09:44 PM. Reason: add ext
    Gigabyte GA-H87M-HD3 m/b CPU: Intel Core i7-4770 3.40 Ghz
    Memory: Single 8Gb DDR3 1600 ram
    Video - Radeon HD6770 1Gb ram
    Operating System: Windows 7 64bit Home Premium

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Blue Mountains, Australia
    Posts
    324

    Default

    Well since my last post I have been doing a lot of trail and error testing and have come to the conclusion that there must be something else in the sound.cfg causing the terrible noise when above 80Kts as I replaced the entire GROUND_ROLL] section with one from another floatplane with also has WATERLOOP sound file and it then doesn't make to noise, The only differences with the other parameters is the minimum_volume and maximum_volume and I even tried setting those to what they are for the other floatplane - still the same noise.
    Gigabyte GA-H87M-HD3 m/b CPU: Intel Core i7-4770 3.40 Ghz
    Memory: Single 8Gb DDR3 1600 ram
    Video - Radeon HD6770 1Gb ram
    Operating System: Windows 7 64bit Home Premium

  6. #6

    Default

    Did you do the cnt pt sound (position 13)? This:
    //------ cnt pts (floats) SOUND ---------------
    //As you can see in cnt pts the 'sound' (pt 13) for floats is '2, 3, 2, 3' and those are GEAR sound -- not float sound: Change 'sound' (pt 13) to '4, 4, 4, 4'.

    Perhaps you might not understand what I am saying. So I will post the whole edited cnt pts for the beaver:
    point.0 = 4, 0.00, 4.80, -8.00, 2200, 0, 0, 0.0, 0.0, 2.5, 0.390, 0.0, 0.0, 3, 0, 0
    point.1 = 4, 0.00, -4.80, -8.00, 2200, 0, 0, 0.0, 0.5, 2.5, 0.891, 0.0, 0.0, 2, 0, 0
    point.2 = 4, -18.10, 4.80, -7.00, 2200, 0, 0, 0.0, 0.5, 2.5, 0.891, 0.0, 0.0, 3, 0, 0
    point.3 = 4, -18.10, -4.80, -7.00, 2200, 0, 0, 0.0, 0.5, 2.5, 0.891, 0.0, 0.0, 2, 0, 0

    Change to this:
    point.0 = 4, 0.00, 4.80, -8.00, 2200, 0, 0, 0.0, 0.0, 2.5, 0.390, 0.0, 0.0, 4, 0, 0
    point.1 = 4, 0.00, -4.80, -8.00, 2200, 0, 0, 0.0, 0.5, 2.5, 0.891, 0.0, 0.0, 4, 0, 0
    point.2 = 4, -18.10, 4.80, -7.00, 2200, 0, 0, 0.0, 0.5, 2.5, 0.891, 0.0, 0.0, 4, 0, 0
    point.3 = 4, -18.10, -4.80, -7.00, 2200, 0, 0, 0.0, 0.5, 2.5, 0.891, 0.0, 0.0, 4, 0, 0

    Also the type 2 (scrapes) COULD be the source of that 'noise'. Comment them out temp for testing:
    //point.6 = 2, -6.90, -25.0, 4.50, 1800, 0, 0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 5
    //point.7 = 2, -6.90 25.0, 4.50, 1800, 0, 0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 6
    //point.8= 2, -30.23, 0.0, -0.00, 1800, 0, 0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 9
    //point.9= 2, 0.48, 0.0, -2.17, 1800, 0, 0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 4
    //point.10= 2, -27.50, 0.0, 7.50, 1800, 0, 0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 7

    The last numbers (position 13)(ie: 5,6,9,4 and 7) are 'sound' (or noise). If you used 'silence.wmv' in sound cfg then that tells me the 'noise' might not be coming from ground roll, wind, etc. The sim will 'use' the 'silence.wav' without question. What does it sound like? Like this ( ). IOW no sound (ha). Keep on trucking - you'll find the culprit.
    Chuck B
    Napamule
    i7 2600K @ 3.4 Ghz (Turbo-Boost to 3.877 Ghz), Asus P8H67 Pro, Super Talent 8 Gb DDR3/1333 Dual Channel, XFX Radeon R7-360B 2Gb DDR5, Corsair 650 W PSU, Dell 23 in (2048x1152), Windows7 Pro 64 bit, MS Sidewinder Precision 2 Joy, Logitech K-360 wireless KB & Mouse, Targus PAUK10U USB Keypad for Throttle (F1 to F4)/Spoiler/Tailhook/Wing Fold/Pitch Trim/Parking Brake/Snap to 2D Panel/View Change. Installed on 250 Gb (D. FS9 and FSX Acceleration (locked at 30 FPS).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Blue Mountains, Australia
    Posts
    324

    Default

    Sorry Chuck I missed that and at first thought that the aircraft.cfg (contact points) wasn't part of the change necessary.

    Yes I understand a little about contact points having changed them for an AI float plane I set up - I didn't change pnt 13 (sound type) only the 'positions' (for the floats).

    I did everything you suggested including removing the [sound] without success.
    The only thing which gets rid of it is to replace waterloop sound file with silence BUT it is part of two other floatplanes I have which don't make the noise over 80Kts so it seems it is affected from somewhere else.
    I have spent far too long on this and need to move on.
    Maybe I will purchase a 3rd party DHC-2.
    Thanks for your suggestions.

    Thanks
    Last edited by jparnold; 07-18-2017 at 02:20 AM. Reason: add text
    Gigabyte GA-H87M-HD3 m/b CPU: Intel Core i7-4770 3.40 Ghz
    Memory: Single 8Gb DDR3 1600 ram
    Video - Radeon HD6770 1Gb ram
    Operating System: Windows 7 64bit Home Premium

  8. #8

    Default

    If you have other simular AC and they are 'ok' then any mods that 'don't work' is most likely due to the MODEL and can't be 'fixed'. Sorry.
    Chuck B
    Napamule
    i7 2600K @ 3.4 Ghz (Turbo-Boost to 3.877 Ghz), Asus P8H67 Pro, Super Talent 8 Gb DDR3/1333 Dual Channel, XFX Radeon R7-360B 2Gb DDR5, Corsair 650 W PSU, Dell 23 in (2048x1152), Windows7 Pro 64 bit, MS Sidewinder Precision 2 Joy, Logitech K-360 wireless KB & Mouse, Targus PAUK10U USB Keypad for Throttle (F1 to F4)/Spoiler/Tailhook/Wing Fold/Pitch Trim/Parking Brake/Snap to 2D Panel/View Change. Installed on 250 Gb (D. FS9 and FSX Acceleration (locked at 30 FPS).

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2012, 07:03 PM
  2. DHC-2 Beaver Panel Question.....
    By Qballbandit in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-03-2004, 06:41 AM
  3. Do you know working DHC-2 Beaver for FS2004?
    By melendir in forum FS2004
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-16-2003, 03:35 AM
  4. Designing new DHC-2 Beaver NON-TURBO
    By drewhosick in forum FS2002
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 04-03-2002, 09:10 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-11-2002, 02:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •