Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: FSX:SE My Logbook.BIN is corrupt and I'm sort of at a loss

  1. Default

    No renaming flights is not needed at all.

    When you change to:
    situation=
    in the fsx.cfg file
    you get a new startup situation.
    and that's all that's needed.

    You then set up a new flight, and fly it. done.

    (If FSX is set to not show the opening menu's then you are flying Friday Harbor straight away. But still, FSX starts again.)

    All he needs is to get FSX starting again, remember?



    If you later find that, when using: "Load Flight", and select one, and you then get an error in starting the flight. Then it is time to look at perhaps deliting it. But better, to see where the cause is, because that can be fixed too most of the time. (The cuase there is usually that the aircraft in the saved flight, is not on the system any more, or has been renamed by you.)
    Anyway, that's a whole different problem.

    If fsx is not starting because of a corrupt default flight, then
    changing to
    situation=
    will fix it right away every time.

  2. #12

    Default

    Okay, so testing the integrity in Steam said everything seemed fine, but the game still won't start. There is no crash report because the game never crashes. It just sits there and doesn't to anything besides show the splash screen. I usually just have to go to task manager & end the task. Then I took a look at situation= in the fsx.cfg, but it didn't do anything. Also, not sure if its all that relevant, but when I start it up, an error message showing "SCENERY.CFG file error. Local scenery directory (Addon Scenery\New FSX Library Objects\SCENERY) in scenery Area.122 not found. Click OK to continue". I didn't add this because I usually get similar messages and it works fine. Also after looking at the scenery.cfg, I noticed that there was no area.122. So yeah, idk if that particular segment is necessary, but maybe it is.

  3. Default

    Ok, so fsx does start.

    THe error means a scener area (an addon scenery you had once installed)
    is not installed any more.
    But that fsx, when loading, is stilltryuing to load this missing area, and can't find it.

    (the area is listed in the "scenery library" list in fsx/settings,
    but the folder and files for that area are not there.)

    Not strange, because you reinstalled fsx, so all your old addon scenery is now gone.

    The reason fsx is still looking for the area, is the "Scenery Library"
    You can't access that menu without fsx starting.
    But..
    ou can get around it.

    The "Scenery Library" list is listed in a file called: scenery.cfg
    What you want to do is replace the file with a fresh copy. One that lists no extra area's.
    The way to do this is:

    Close FSX (important),
    open folder:
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\FSX
    and rename file:
    scenery.cfg
    to
    scenery-old.cfg

    When next starting fsx, it will create a fresh file called: scenery.cfg
    and fsx should start normally.

    (Btw, I said to change the line to situation=
    I did not say to just look at it.
    It's not clear from your answer what you did, but it doesn't matter any more. It seems that wasn't the issue.
    As you explained fsx does start.)

  4. #14

    Default

    Renaming the scenery.cfg to scenery-old.cfg didn't work. It just still does the same thing as before. Also, just to see, I tried renaming the other scenery.cfg in the main FSX folder, and tried starting it up. This time it just showed that the scenery.cfg is lost or damaged, and that I should reinstall to repair it. I just ended up renaming it back, and it still does the same thing.

  5. Default

    Do you mean that after renaming the file in C:/Programdata
    it stilll say area 122 is missing???

  6. Default

    Make sure that in:
    ..\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\Addon Scenery

    there is a folder called
    ..\scenery

    If it is not there, create it. Simply an empty folder.


    --
    Also look in:
    ..\Microsoft Flight Simulator X\Addon Scenery

    and see if there is a folder called
    ..\texture

    If it is not there, create it. Simply an empty folder.

    ---
    Then start fsx

  7. #17

    Default

    They we're both there. Ran it, and nothing happened. And yes, I renamed the file in both %appdata% and under Program Files, but renamed the program files one back to scenery.cfg because it told me to reinstall after doing so.

  8. Default

    Do not rename the scenery.cfg file that is in:
    C:\<your username>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX
    leave that file alone. I never said anything about that one.

    -----------------------------------------
    The file I told you to rename was:
    C:\Users\owner\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX
    when you do that, fsx will create a new one on restart.


    The area 122 in that new one is pointing to:
    ..\Addon Scenery\scenery
    and
    ..\Addon Scenery\texture

    So as long as those folders are there, and you renamed the correct scenery.cfg file, it should start up without error messages.


    ----
    A lot has been said already. Be specific when you respond.
    Do not just say: "I did what was said"
    but explain what you did in your own words each time.

    And be specific about the folder names. It matters.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Pontefract, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    807

    Default

    @ austinboi......

    First thing to note is WRT your comments in post #12 about the scenery issues you have experienced. These errors CAN cause problems but you will only experience them when 'flying' to an area and/or airport that is covered by the problem area. This can manifest it self in a number of ways. For example, the airport buildings might not show or be incomplete or, in a worse case scenario, it will cause the sim to crash.

    When you click OK to the error message all that you are telling FSX to do is to continue loading other areas and to ignore the problem area - the end effect is that FSX doesn't load it and, if you keep away from the specific area or, in the case of your specific Area.122 problem, away from any airport scenery that uses any of the objects you won't experience any issues.

    As the problem area, based on your folder name, is an scenery object library, please check/confirm that:

    A. The folder still exists and.....
    B. That scenery based files (those with a .bgl extension but sometimes you will also see some with .txt extensions) are placed in the Scenery subfolder and texture files (.bmp, .dds etc) are placed in the Texture folder

    If any of these files are placed into the wrong folder or are placed within the root folder of the library main folder then issues will occur. It is OK to have non-scenery related files (such as readme files in .txt, .doc, .pdf format) to be located in the subfolders and/or main root folder as they shouldn't cause an issue but you could move them to a safe location for future reference if you so wish.

    Once you have confirmed that all the files are in their proper location, start FSX and once it is loaded go to the Scenery settings page and locate the entry for the object library. Untick the box next to the entry and then click OK. Let FSX rebuild the scenery list. Select the object library again and remove the area, click OK and let FSX rebuild the list and then close FSX.

    Optional - Reboot the PC. Some will say this is not necessary whilst others will say that you should do so - the choice is yours. When it comes to FSX, my preference is to always reboot after adding or deleting payware stuff, as such products tend to have entries in the Windows Registry - rebooting allows the registry entries to be updated

    Restart FSX - You should get no error message for Area.122. Go to the Scenery settings page and try activating the scenery again. Let FSX rebuild the list and exit FSX. Restart FSX and see if you get an error for the library again - NOTE if may not be re-assigned as Area.122 so yo need to pay careful attention to the full name in the error message to see if it refers to the object library.

    If the object library errors out again, and you are sure that all of the files are in the correct sub folder, then it is likely that there is a problem with one or more files in the library itself.
    Regards

    Brian

  10. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by longbreak754 View Post
    First thing to note is WRT your comments in post #12 about the scenery issues you have experienced. These errors CAN cause problems but you will only experience them when 'flying' to an area and/or airport that is covered by the problem area. This can manifest it self in a number of ways. For example, the airport buildings might not show or be incomplete or, in a worse case scenario, it will cause the sim to crash.
    I have had that error message numerous times. Always caused by user error (yes, by me...).
    For example ditching a downloaded scenery I didn't like after testing, and forgetting to remove it in the scenery library first.
    But that error NEVER prevented me from going to the FSX start screen, as is the case with the OP.

    Quote Originally Posted by longbreak754 View Post
    Once you have confirmed that all the files are in their proper location, start FSX and once it is loaded go to the Scenery settings page and...
    Good advice, if only the OP would be able to start FSX.
    Which he still isn't, unless I missed something very important in this (rather confusing) thread ?

    Wim

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-28-2015, 06:46 PM
  2. logbook.bin
    By lefu in forum FSX
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-16-2013, 05:44 PM
  3. Logbook.bin file needs deleting frequently
    By Woodpecker1214388 in forum FSX
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-07-2013, 08:41 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-03-2013, 06:07 PM
  5. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 05-07-2012, 06:48 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •