Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Can Anyone help me with this scenery setting?

  1. #1

    Default Can Anyone help me with this scenery setting?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fsx scenery sq.jpg 
Views:	46 
Size:	73.2 KB 
ID:	198693


    Hi there,

    i found this square shape on the scenery. is that setting problem or other spec issue? im using fsx

  2. #2

    Default

    Well @Kui5566,
    May you post the screenshot for your scenery settings ? I believe that the mesh's complexity is set way too low for the terrain to display as what they should be

  3. #3

    Default

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fsx ai.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	106.3 KB 
ID:	198706Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fsx gra.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	119.4 KB 
ID:	198707Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fsx scenery.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	97.6 KB 
ID:	198708Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fsx weather.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	87.7 KB 
ID:	198709Click image for larger version. 

Name:	graphic.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	108.0 KB 
ID:	198710

  4. #4

    Default

    90 fps?

    Why?

    Your eye 'sees' at approx 21 fps, that's why tv and movies are set at approx that rate.

    You can discern no higher rate than that.

    Bottom line, it's a needless drain on your resources.
    Last edited by Allen Craig; 07-16-2017 at 04:57 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    It's a little cold outside right now.
    Posts
    7,370

    Default

    Sorry, but the human eye easily can see more than 24 FPS. TV shows and movies are displayed differently than computers images, and it is very possible for people to see the difference between 24, 30, 60 and 100 FPS.

    http://www.100fps.com/how_many_frame...humans_see.htm

    Simmers should set the frame rate limit to what works for them, but claiming that people can't see more than 24 FPS is simply wrong.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    14,543

    Default

    Here's my recommendations:

    Global Texture Resolution, Special Effects Detail, and Scenery Complexity Sliders should all be maxed out to the right!

    Kill Lens Flare and kill Show aircraft labels. Set Airline AI traffic to under 50%.

    Your computer specs can't be any worse than mine and I have those settings and working well!
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Pontefract, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    843

    Default

    +1 on the suggestions made by Zippy - they may resolve the issue if it is not a conflict between scenery packages............ EDIT - I have added this having taken a closer look at the screenshot provided..........Something you could that try that will show if the problem is because your are over-extending your system resources is to pause the flight and wait and see if the scenery 'catches up' and loads correctly - if it does then test different settings to get the best balance. If the problem remains then it seems more likely to be a conflict as indicated below - EDIT END

    However, from the screenshot provides it does appear to me to be conflict between two (or if you are really unlucky, more) different scenery packages, The problem is identifying the culprit(s). First thing to consider/identify is how widespread it is - i.e. is it just in one place or does it appear in other nearby areas (say in a radius of XX miles) or does it occur in a totally different location.

    It could be down to terrain/landclass mesh conflict - this can be due to a mismatch/misalignment in area coverage between a 3rd party package and the default FSX terrain or between two 3rd party packages.

    It could also be caused by one or more files contained in an airport package near to the area. Sometimes it could be from an airport a fair distance away.

    You will need to review what stuff you have added recently and use the scenery settings page to disable each in turn and test.

    To aid this I suggest saving a flight in the area of the problem so that you can easily reload it in the same area each time.

    Happy hunting........
    Last edited by longbreak754; 07-17-2017 at 10:13 AM. Reason: Added EDIT text
    Regards

    Brian

  8. #8

    Default

    Wrong again 'eh?

    Oh well there's the end of the world as I knew it - LMAO

    Run FSX at 21 fps

    then run it at 50 fps

    YOU can NOT discern the difference

    And YOU know it

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    It's a little cold outside right now.
    Posts
    7,370

    Default Can Anyone help me with this scenery setting?

    Quote Originally Posted by Allen Craig View Post
    YOU can NOT discern the difference

    And YOU know it
    It is very much possible to tell the difference between 20 and 50 fps in FSX. Even more so in other, faster paced, games. Try reading up on frame rates and human vision, as well as how TVs, movies and PCs work when it comes to displaying video.

    http://gizmodo.com/why-frame-rate-matters-1675153198

    http://www.pcgamer.com/how-many-fram...ye-really-see/

    If 24 fps works for you, that's great, but please stop trying to claim something that isn't true.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-13-2013, 03:10 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-25-2013, 11:26 PM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-04-2011, 06:06 AM
  4. Can Anyone help me with a scenery issue?
    By spanky1996 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-15-2003, 09:01 AM
  5. Help? Can anyone help me switch .mdl files
    By Butterbean in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-10-2002, 01:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •