No reaction from ATC on transponder failure

Hi Everyone,

I'm relatively new to FSX and I wanted to give a try some equipment failure for the first time. I've chosen transponder failure. The flight was IFR to Frankfurt International (EDDF) with heavy thunderstorm weather scheme.

After receiving approach pattern and contacting Frankfurt Tower I activated transponder failure.

I'm aware that in case of radio problems I should set transponder to squawk code 7600 but in my case it was the transponder failure so I wouldn't expect any effect, no matter how I try to set my transponder.

I was rather expecting that ATC will contact me to notify me that they aren't getting data from my transponder anymore and eventually give instructions on how to stay safely away from other traffic.

Waiting for any contact from them (my ATC window didn't have any option to tell them about the problem) I continued approach following the last order from the tower. I was unable to visually recognize the incoming danger. The tower didn't also try to warn other aircrafts about unrecognizable traffic (me).

So the flight ended by being hit by another landing aircraft.

A couple of question arise:

1. Forgetting about that I used simulator option to trigger transponder failure, would I be able as a pilot to always recognize that my transponder stopped working?

2. Is it expected from ATC to remain silent if one of the IFR flights stops transmitting data from transponder?

3. Should I try to switch to squawk code 7600 anyway? And would that make any difference if the transponder was down.

4. What else could I do to avoid the crash?

Interesting that ATC did not notice the transponder failure. The only time ATC ever notified me was when I was playing around in the cockpit after setting the initial transponder freq, I tuned it to another freq and got an immediate response from ATC that I was squawking the wrong freq.