Why does FSX load a flight scenario at startup?

dleghthikos

Does it go from opening Splash screen right into a flight scenario like you have pressed the "Fly Now" tab? Have you got a check mark in the box for "Show Opening Screen"?

Still thinking about a new flightsim only computer!  ✈️

You don't have to hit FLY NOW. The default flight loads the aircraft model before then, so the beneficial aspect of this has already taken place. Ideally, you need a FSX default piston engined aircraft in your default flight (I use the Cessna 172). It doesn't have to be at Friday Harbor either, it can be your local airport, in fact it's better to be there to avoid FSX local time issues.

..........Ideally, you need a FSX default piston engined aircraft in your default flight (I use the Cessna 172)...........

Why?.....

Other than a few well known 3rd party products that seem to have an issue if this is the not the case, this is not really necessary.

I have been using FSX for many years and over that time I have created/launched many 'default' saved flights using many 3rd party (both freeware and payware) products and have never encountered any issues.

My SOP is to save the current light at its current destination (as the default flight) so that I can resume the next flight from that location. The only time I vary this is when I load a new aircraft (I tend to fly a particular aircraft for 3-6 months before switching to another) where I will then load an initial flight in 'free' flight mode and save the new flight as the default flight

Regards

Brian

Why?.....