Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: HELP - Helo wont float!

  1. #1

    Default HELP - Helo wont float!

    I have a fs2004 AS350 B3 helicopter with floats in my small collection but when I try to land on water it crashes.
    Is there anything I can do with the .air file or something to make it float?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Klammath Falls, OR
    Posts
    4,051

    Default

    In the aircraft.cfg file, there is a section [Contact_points]. In that, there should be 4 lines that look like this: point.3 = 4, 16, -19.494, 12.909, 1500, 0, 1, 90, 0.3, 2.5, 0.7, 10, 12, 0, 200, 200
    Note the 4 right after the equals sign. That designates the line to be a float type of contact point. IF you don't have those lines, we will need to create them and add them into the Contact Points section.
    If they are there, they need adjusting to prevent the "crash" problem.
    Can you post the [Contact_points] section of your aircraft.cfg so we can see where-in lieth the rub, so to speak.
    Hope this helps a little
    Pat☺

    Had a thought...then there was the smell of something burning, and sparks, and then a big fire, and then the lights went out! I guess I better not do that again!
    Sgt, USMC, 10 years proud service, Inactive reserve now

  3. #3

    Default

    Thanks, I'm new at this. Here is the requested info:

    [contact_points]
    point.0= 3.000, 5.242, 3.369, -5.850, 1574.800, 0.000, 0.519, 0.000, 0.300, 2.500, 0.605, 0.000, 0.000, 2.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.1= 3.000, -4.166, -3.369, -5.850, 1574.800, 0.000, 0.519, 0.000, 0.300, 2.500, 0.728, 0.000, 0.000, 3.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.2= 3.000, -4.166, 3.369, -5.850, 1574.800, 0.000, 0.519, 0.000, 0.300, 2.500, 0.728, 0.000, 0.000, 3.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.3= 3.000, 5.242, -3.369, -5.850, 1574.800, 0.000, 0.519, 0.000, 0.300, 2.500, 0.605, 0.000, 0.000, 2.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.4= 2.000, 17.536, 0.000, 4.589, 100.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 7.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.5= 2.000, -17.536, 0.000, 4.589, 100.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 8.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.6= 2.000, 0.000, 17.536, 4.589, 787.400, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 6.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.7= 2.000, 0.000, -17.536, 4.589, 100.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 5.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.8= 2.000, -24.557, 0.000, 4.862, 500.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 4.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.9= 2.000, -22.654, 0.000, -2.880, 800.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 9.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.10= 2.000, -15.754, 1.256, 0.311, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 4.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.11= 2.000, -15.754, -1.256, 0.311, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 4.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.12= 5, -30.90, -5.250, -7.300, 1600, 0, 0.00, 50.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.00, 1.0, 1.2, 0, 0.0, 0.0
    point.13= 5, -30.90, 5.250, -7.300, 1600, 0, 0.00, 50.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.00, 1.1, 1.5, 0, 0.0, 0.0
    static_pitch = 0.100
    static_cg_height = 5.800

  4. #4

    Default

    There are no '4' type contact points and that is why it won't float. Check you PM (Personal Messages).
    Chuck B
    Napamule
    i7 2600K @ 3.4 Ghz (Turbo-Boost to 3.877 Ghz), Asus P8H67 Pro, Super Talent 8 Gb DDR3/1333 Dual Channel, XFX Radeon R7-360B 2Gb DDR5, Corsair 650 W PSU, Dell 23 in (2048x1152), Windows7 Pro 64 bit, MS Sidewinder Precision 2 Joy, Logitech K-360 wireless KB & Mouse, Targus PAUK10U USB Keypad for Throttle (F1 to F4)/Spoiler/Tailhook/Wing Fold/Pitch Trim/Parking Brake/Snap to 2D Panel/View Change. Installed on 250 Gb (D. FS9 and FSX Acceleration (locked at 30 FPS).

  5. #5

    Default

    Phantom - I changed the 3 to a 4 and it still crashes.

    Chuck - Did you get my PM. I sent link but it'ss not showing in my PM's Sent box?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Klammath Falls, OR
    Posts
    4,051

    Default

    Ok, I'm sorry if I was misunderstood. Just changing a 3 to a 4 isn't really the solution. What we need to do is ADD some pointx=4... lines. At least 4 of them, to make it stable when floating.
    The 3 type points are a necessary entry. IE: The helicopter needs them to land, detect craches, and so on. Thus, just changing 3's to 4's won't do what needs to be done.
    I'll work on doing the additions for you. It may take me a day or so (other duties now that the weather is spring-like finally ). I suspect that may be what Chuck sent you, but I may well be wrong, so I'll work up my own set and see what happens.

    I hope that's acceptable to you...
    Pat☺

    Had a thought...then there was the smell of something burning, and sparks, and then a big fire, and then the lights went out! I guess I better not do that again!
    Sgt, USMC, 10 years proud service, Inactive reserve now

  7. #7

    Default

    Pat,
    He sent me a zip of the AS350 BE. It has floats in that cfg. Here they are. I flew and landed it on water - no crash. Did he remove the type 4 (floats) from cnt pts section? Maybe?
    [contact_points]
    point.0= 3.000, 5.242, 3.369, -5.850, 1574.800, 0.000, 0.519, 0.000, 0.300, 2.500, 0.605, 0.000, 0.000, 2.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.1= 3.000, -4.166, -3.369, -5.850, 1574.800, 0.000, 0.519, 0.000, 0.300, 2.500, 0.728, 0.000, 0.000, 3.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.2= 3.000, -4.166, 3.369, -5.850, 1574.800, 0.000, 0.519, 0.000, 0.300, 2.500, 0.728, 0.000, 0.000, 3.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.3= 3.000, 5.242, -3.369, -5.850, 1574.800, 0.000, 0.519, 0.000, 0.300, 2.500, 0.605, 0.000, 0.000, 2.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.4= 2.000, 17.536, 0.000, 4.589, 100.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 7.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.5= 2.000, -17.536, 0.000, 4.589, 100.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 8.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.6= 2.000, 0.000, 17.536, 4.589, 787.400, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 6.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.7= 2.000, 0.000, -17.536, 4.589, 100.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 5.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.8= 2.000, -24.557, 0.000, 4.862, 500.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 4.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.9= 2.000, -22.654, 0.000, -2.880, 800.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 9.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.10= 2.000, -15.754, 1.256, 0.311, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 4.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.11= 2.000, -15.754, -1.256, 0.311, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 4.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.12= 5, -30.90, -5.250, -7.300, 1600, 0, 0.00, 50.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.00, 1.0, 1.2, 0, 0.0, 0.0
    point.13= 5, -30.90, 5.250, -7.300, 1600, 0, 0.00, 50.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.00, 1.1, 1.5, 0, 0.0, 0.0
    point.14= 4.000, 5.242, 3.369, -4.543, 1574.800, 0.000, 0.519, 0.000, 0.300, 2.500, 0.605, 0.000, 0.000, 2.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.15= 4.000, -4.166, -3.369, -4.543, 1574.800, 0.000, 0.519, 0.000, 0.300, 2.500, 0.728, 0.000, 0.000, 3.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.16= 4.000, -4.166, 3.369, -4.543, 1574.800, 0.000, 0.519, 0.000, 0.300, 2.500, 0.728, 0.000, 0.000, 3.000, 0.000, 0.000
    point.17= 4.000, 5.242, -3.369, -4.543, 1574.800, 0.000, 0.519, 0.000, 0.300, 2.500, 0.605, 0.000, 0.000, 2.000, 0.000, 0.000
    static_pitch = 0.100
    static_cg_height = 5.800

    Here is video of me landing it on water: https://youtu.be/19hX76mfFRA

    PS: I just could be a combination of crash detection ON and the nose and tail scrapes causing problem. Also the water rudder (5) are way too low I think (-7.300).

    Chuck B
    Napamule
    Last edited by napamule2; 05-20-2017 at 02:07 AM.
    i7 2600K @ 3.4 Ghz (Turbo-Boost to 3.877 Ghz), Asus P8H67 Pro, Super Talent 8 Gb DDR3/1333 Dual Channel, XFX Radeon R7-360B 2Gb DDR5, Corsair 650 W PSU, Dell 23 in (2048x1152), Windows7 Pro 64 bit, MS Sidewinder Precision 2 Joy, Logitech K-360 wireless KB & Mouse, Targus PAUK10U USB Keypad for Throttle (F1 to F4)/Spoiler/Tailhook/Wing Fold/Pitch Trim/Parking Brake/Snap to 2D Panel/View Change. Installed on 250 Gb (D. FS9 and FSX Acceleration (locked at 30 FPS).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Klammath Falls, OR
    Posts
    4,051

    Default

    Did he remove the type 4 (floats) from cnt pts section? Maybe?
    Well, Chuck, from what he posted above it looks like that's what happened.
    His listing of points ends at point13, and the floats in the cnt_point you posted start at 14.
    I don't know if he just didn't show the entire section, or if he cut point14 and on out for some reason.
    Funny, I took what he posted and added float points that look exactly like what you posted. Honest, I don't have the zipfile for that chopper, but my float points look almost exactly like what you posted.

    I don't know what's going on with his bird, although I suspect it has to do more with the scenery package he's using than his helicopter. I've found that quite often, helicopters trying to land on add-on sceneries get a crash detected. Some, you just need to fly into the area and you get a crash detected.

    Other than all of the above, I am not sure what else may be going on.
    Thanks for your help, though, Chuck! You're better at this stuff than I am
    Pat☺

    Had a thought...then there was the smell of something burning, and sparks, and then a big fire, and then the lights went out! I guess I better not do that again!
    Sgt, USMC, 10 years proud service, Inactive reserve now

  9. #9

    Default

    He stoped communicating with us so what you said about scenery crash might be true. Or he removed the floats, thinking they were the culprit. Too much mechanics and not enough 'diagnostics' (hehe). Hope he checks in. He needs to let us try to fix whatever is wrong. No fun crashing sim and not been able to fly due to some minor glitch (we caused). We all have 'Been there - done that'. Right?
    Chuck B
    i7 2600K @ 3.4 Ghz (Turbo-Boost to 3.877 Ghz), Asus P8H67 Pro, Super Talent 8 Gb DDR3/1333 Dual Channel, XFX Radeon R7-360B 2Gb DDR5, Corsair 650 W PSU, Dell 23 in (2048x1152), Windows7 Pro 64 bit, MS Sidewinder Precision 2 Joy, Logitech K-360 wireless KB & Mouse, Targus PAUK10U USB Keypad for Throttle (F1 to F4)/Spoiler/Tailhook/Wing Fold/Pitch Trim/Parking Brake/Snap to 2D Panel/View Change. Installed on 250 Gb (D. FS9 and FSX Acceleration (locked at 30 FPS).

  10. #10

    Default

    Sorry, I was out of town.
    I don't understand this contact point stuff at all.
    Do I just copy/paste the cfg posted above?
    My points stop at 13. I did not adjust anything.

    EDIT:
    I want to thank you all. I copied the configuration posted above by Chuck.
    Everything is working great now! Must land almost perfectly level or it crashes,
    but at least it lands!!
    Last edited by Allen24; 05-29-2017 at 12:24 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-04-2011, 06:06 AM
  2. New Russian helo - help needed
    By degiorgio in forum FS2004
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-30-2006, 06:46 PM
  3. Need some helo help (installing EC-135)
    By Slick9 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-27-2006, 12:28 PM
  4. Float Planes Don't Float
    By amateurpilot in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-07-2003, 06:14 AM
  5. my float planes wont move in the water.
    By kitfd in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-24-2002, 10:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •