Comparing crash between 2004 version and FSX version

Prim

Hi,

Im an aerospace engineering student and im now doing Thesis about crash simulation. I just tried crashing the aircraft in FSX, but when it crashed, the aircraft will reset automatically by itself. Does anyone have an idea about how to set and let it crashes?

By the way, my supervisor told me that in Flight simulator2004 version, the aircraft can be crashed and allow us to sit there and see how it crashes. Is it true?

Kind regards

Prim :D:o

Regarding FSX only (I don't know fs9)

I'm thinking maybe your teacher meant something a little different.

Maybe he meant that you can judge the exact touchdown position and angle of the plane.

And from that you deduce how a real plane behaves after such a touchdown. (using your knowledge of Mass, velocity, friction, etc.)

I did a lot of flying in fsx. I also read a lot of incident reports on the site AVHarald and watched many Reruns of "Air Crash Investigation", a tv program.

A while ago there was a large crash at KSFO. Terrible accident.

My deepest condolences to the victims.

I followed the news item. The first thing out was images of the debris trail from three angles.

Also a side on amateaur video from a long way away.

From that I managed to deduce a bit about the crash.

I saw the plane was coming in low and slow. Looked like it was stalling. I know that in a stall one of the wingtips tends to dip.

The debris trail showed that the tail had hit first.

And the trail curved to the left a bit.

also:

reports were that the plane 'cartwheeled'.

I thopught it can't have flipped vertically. If so it would not be so intact anymore.

There was however a large cloud of 'dust' in the video.

I cut a small shape of an aircraft out of a piece of paper, and "landed" it on my desk a few times.

-tail hits,

-rudder/elev snap off,

-wingtip (left one) hits ground first.

--no more tail is nop directional stability

--left wingtip digs in.