Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: FSX Aircraft Menu Selection

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    6

    Default FSX Aircraft Menu Selection

    Recently added some new aircraft to FSX, I get the thumbnails come up in the menu, but they are out of sync with the descriptions. If I delete them from simobjects/aircraft, the menu comes back in order. Is there a fix
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture1.JPG 
Views:	1773 
Size:	125.7 KB 
ID:	192065

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    18,432

    Default

    What are the exact downloads you are using for these "new" aircraft? I would try one at a time and see which of the new ones is affecting the Selection Page.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    No flight Sim installed until I get a new computer.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Salinas, CA
    Posts
    1,931

    Default

    Hi savcom,
    Check that you have the filler files in the UIRES folder for aircraft with missing thumbnails. If these files are not present this will cause the problem you have.
    Name:  thumb.JPG
Views: 454
Size:  22.2 KB

    Jim F.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    8,095
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Looking at where the images start going out of sync, the issue is the 777 300 ER

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Salinas, CA
    Posts
    1,931

    Default

    Hi il88pp,
    With those missing jpgs any file he installs without thumbnails will cause the problem. Creating thumbnails for the problem aircraft will correct the problem but any future aircraft with missing thumbnails will cause the problem again.
    Jim

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Yes, seems the safest way to do it, but needed to know the actual cause, so can be fixed or avoid altogether. Thank you

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Will check these out, thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Gents
    Cracked it, found that the JPG has to be in the aircrafts Texture file, I copied and pasted the missing ones and the order came back.
    Lesson learned, thank you all

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    8,095
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Thanks JimF

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hammond, IN USA
    Posts
    4,796

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by savcom View Post
    Gents
    Cracked it, found that the JPG has to be in the aircrafts Texture file, I copied and pasted the missing ones and the order came back.
    Lesson learned, thank you all
    Well, there are several other ways to have the thumbnails displayed, but simply having a file named "thumbnail.jpg" in the ..\texture folder is the easiest method.

    Any name other than "thumbnail.jpg" will require an entry in the aircraft.cfg file for each livery.
    Bill Leaming
    Gauge Programming - 3d Modeling Military Visualizations
    Flightsim.com Panels & Gauges Forum Moderator
    Flightsim Rig: Intel Core i7-2600K - 8GB DDR3 1333 - EVGA GTX770 4GB - Win7 64bit Home Premium
    Development Rig1: Intel Core i7-3770k - 16GB DDR3 - Dual Radeon HD7770 SLI 1GB - Win7 64bit Professional
    Development Rig2: Intel Core i7-860 - 8GB DDR3 Corsair - GeForce GTS240 1GB - Win7 64bit Home Premium
    NOTE: Unless explicitly stated in the post, everything written by my hand is MY opinion. I do NOT speak for any company, real or imagined...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Modifying FSX Aircraft Selection Menu
    By oldcrusty in forum FSX
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-26-2012, 08:28 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-25-2009, 03:17 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-29-2004, 05:14 PM
  4. aircraft not displaying in selection menu.
    By rservice in forum FS2004
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-25-2004, 01:31 PM
  5. Aircraft Selection Menu is Totally Black
    By adlion944 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-07-2003, 02:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •