"Newbie" trying to grasp the basics....

aviation1974

I'm dumping Microsoft FSX due to it repeatedly dumping me, ( memory dumps ), with messages saying I've run out of memory. My flights ending abruptly. So, I'm buying and installing Prepar3D, version 3. I have no prior experience with Prepar3D. Should I install Prepar3D on a Windows 7, 32bit desktop, or on a Windows 7, 64bit desktop? Both desktops have plenty of available hard drive space, ( SSD's ). Both desktops have quad-core processors. The 64bit desktop has 16GB of memory installed. Which desktop should I install Prepar3D on? My priority and greatest wish, ( given my Micosoft FSX experiences ), is for "smooth operations". I'm a "newbie", and I need experienced Prepar3D simmers to help me out, with your advice and suggestions. I know you'll be bored answering my questions, but I'll be so grateful and very appreciative. Thank you all. Oh yes, one more question. I'm a fan of "virtual cokpits". Are "VC"s available in Prepar3D aircraft downloads? Or, must I acquire and install an add-on, camera view program of some kind? Any advice on that? Thanks... aviation1972 :rolleyes:
Real pilot, with some flight simming experience. Recently thought of migrating to Prepar3D, version 3, but I'm sticking with FSX, ( now with "Steam", I'm happy with FSX ). No more crashes due to minimal frame rates, but I always seem to need tips and advice. Yes, from everyone. It never ends. Thanks... :rolleyes:

V3 is still a 32 bit application so the installer will automatically install in the Programs X86 folder. Personally, I install it on a separate SDD in a folder a created. VC are available in P3DV3 same as FSX. Very little if any difference in the structure. camera views are similar to FSX with some enhancements. Wont go into specifics but one is the Avatar feature. VAS management is improved over FSX but I wouldn't say greatly.

CPU: I7 4790K @ 4.5 ghz, GPU and CPU water cooled

GPU: Gigabyte GTX 970

MEM: Gskill Rippjaw 1866 17900