Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: FS9 Crashes on Splash Screen

  1. #1

    Default FS9 Crashes on Splash Screen

    G'day forum of expert simmers, have spent the best part of today trying to figure out what I maybe able to do here without the full on re-stall.
    I havent added any scenery or repaints for over a month and yesterday I started to get the Microsoft Flight Simulator has stopped working. It would do it once and then load the sim fine. That all changed today it gets to building database for new scenery and thats as far as I get. Always at 81%.
    I have done the following;
    Checked for an up to date DirectX
    Manually went through and changed all add on scenery to FALSE to see if deactivating them would work
    Moved all my traffic bar the default cessna from my Aircraft folder
    Rebuilt the FS9.cfg
    Deleted all the Scenery.dat files
    Updated my drivers
    Deleted all flightplans

    And unless one of you kind people can offer something I havent tried im an eyelash away from the a compete re-install and while not the end of the world a massive pain in the backside

    Cheers
    Mark

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,006

    Default

    Hi Mark, try moving all non-default modules out of the Modules folder and launch FS again. Anything added by a scenery installer needs to be moved, as it may have become corrupted and need uninstalling/re-installing.

  3. #3

    Default

    Hi Tiger thanks for the tip gave it a try but no joy unfortunately.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,006

    Default

    Are you starting with the default flight which is the C172 at KSEA Rwy32? I mean the default C172 and KSEA scenery, no add-on AI, mesh, photoscenery or landclass?

  5. #5

    Default

    When it would open yep always the C172 at KSEA now it won't even get to the menu 81% on the load to build database scenery on start up is as far as I get.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    London, UK.
    Posts
    1,252

    Default

    check your antivirus quarantine folder for a FS9 related file.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    509

    Default

    Have you checked your event viewer? Maybe posting the error message from that will help get an answer quicker.

  8. #8

    Default

    Ill check the quarantine folder and MrUnsavoury can you telk me how to do that ive been trying to work it out cheers

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Denver, CO USA KAPA, KLMO, 35CO
    Posts
    1,990

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MarkNZ View Post
    G'day forum of expert simmers, have spent the best part of today trying to figure out what I maybe able to do here without the full on re-stall.
    I havent added any scenery or repaints for over a month and yesterday I started to get the Microsoft Flight Simulator has stopped working. It would do it once and then load the sim fine. That all changed today it gets to building database for new scenery and thats as far as I get. Always at 81%.
    I have done the following;
    Checked for an up to date DirectX
    Manually went through and changed all add on scenery to FALSE to see if deactivating them would work
    Moved all my traffic bar the default cessna from my Aircraft folder
    Rebuilt the FS9.cfg
    Deleted all the Scenery.dat files
    Updated my drivers
    Deleted all flightplans

    And unless one of you kind people can offer something I havent tried im an eyelash away from the a compete re-install and while not the end of the world a massive pain in the backside

    Cheers
    Mark
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but did you remove ALL of the Default Airplanes except for the
    Cessna C-172?

    Alan

    "I created the Little Black Book to keep myself from getting killed..." -- Captain Elrey Borge Jeppesen
    AMD 1.9GB/8GB RAM/AMD VISION 1GB GPU/500 GB HDD/WIN 7 PRO 64/FS9 CFS CFS2

  10. #10

    Default

    Yep ive since put them back in I was trying everything and anything I could think of

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FS2002 Crashes on splash screen startup
    By Hyestar in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-08-2005, 12:14 AM
  2. FS9 Splash Screen Problems
    By Ragtopjohnny in forum FS2004
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-10-2004, 01:27 PM
  3. FS9 after intial splash screen...nothing
    By Gatwick in forum FS2004
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-27-2004, 07:31 PM
  4. Small splash screen in FS9
    By Navigator in forum FS2004
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-13-2004, 09:08 PM
  5. FS9 Opening Splash Screen Appears in Corner
    By CurlSnout in forum FS2004
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-02-2003, 11:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •