Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: New planes will not load in x-plane

  1. #1

    Default New planes will not load in x-plane

    No new planes, free ware or pay ware, will load in my x-plane 10.32 on my 64 bits Windows 8 machine. I get error messages referring to missing airfoil of sort. If the plane load it will appear as a flying cockpit with no airplane fuselage and wings. Sometime only instruments. First time it was funny, but now it is rather frustrating. Does any of you have a clue to what is causing this problem?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    End of the Universe
    Posts
    1,062

    Default

    Installing planes should be as easy as dropping a folder into the Aircraft directory.

    It is possible that you're missing one or more airfoils in X-plane's main "Airfoils" folder. You should never touch those.

    Custom airfoils reside in the aircraft's "Airfoils" sub-folder, but older versions don't always work with XP10.

    BTW, it would be of great help if you could be a bit more specific about these error messages.
    Last edited by RatRace; 03-14-2015 at 04:13 PM.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alfme View Post
    No new planes, free ware or pay ware, will load in my x-plane 10.32 on my 64 bits Windows 8 machine. I get error messages referring to missing airfoil of sort. If the plane load it will appear as a flying cockpit with no airplane fuselage and wings. Sometime only instruments. First time it was funny, but now it is rather frustrating. Does any of you have a clue to what is causing this problem?
    Can you please post your log.txt found in X-Plane's main directory.

    Cheers

    Dom

  4. #4

    Default

    Airfoil maker
    Convert all airfoils to latest format.

  5. #5

    Default

    M
    Quote Originally Posted by DominicS View Post
    Can you please post your log.txt found in X-Plane's main directory.

    Cheers

    Dom
    I'll try to load some aircrafts that I did not load properly before, and send the text.log file. I did that with a bug report too, but never got any reply.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RatRace View Post
    Installing planes should be as easy as dropping a folder into the Aircraft directory.

    It is possible that you're missing one or more airfoils in X-plane's main "Airfoils" folder. You should never touch those.

    Custom airfoils reside in the aircraft's "Airfoils" sub-folder, but older versions don't always work with XP10.

    BTW, it would be of great help if you could be a bit more specific about these error messages.
    I only drop the aircraft file in the designated folder without altering anything. When starting the x-plane I get an error message informing of a missing Airfoil, and that I have to contact the designer to get an umpdate. This even happens with a pay ware airplane. And I can't see any one else telling about similar problems with any free ware or pay ware aircrafts.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    End of the Universe
    Posts
    1,062

    Default

    Hm, as Freddy De Pues suggested, I'd normally recommend to update the airfoils with Airfoil-Maker. But it's weird that so many planes seem to be affected.

    My best guess is that either one of the files in the main Airfoils folder got corrupted, or maybe it has a slightly different name. You can open the offending aircraft in Plane-Maker and check for the airfoils that particular plane uses.

    Otherwise it's waiting for the log.txt.

  8. #8

    Default Can't load aircrafts

    Since I always have problem loading pay ware and free ware aircrafts to my X-plane 10, I'll include my text.file this time. Perhaps this will tell why the aircrafts does not load. I do nothing else than drop the files in the aircraft folders. I never change anything, espesially not the preloaded files coming With X-plane.

  9. #9

    Default New planes will not load in x-plane

    Here is my log.txt file. Hope this can clearify some of my problems.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    End of the Universe
    Posts
    1,062

    Default

    OK, in this particular instance X-plane is complaining it can't find a file called A380.afl, neither in the Aircraft/Heavy Metal/A380-800/airfoils/ subfolder, nor in the Airfoils folder.

    Can you confirm that his particular file A380.afl does indeed reside in either one of the two above mentioned folders? Spelling has to be absolutely correct, both of the file and the directories. To avoid any misunderstandings, all those directories are of course preceded by D:\X-Plane 10/

    If not, there's your problem.
    If yes, are you able to load that file (A380.afl) in Airfoil-Maker ?

    If not, does removing the A380-800 aircraft from your X-Plane 10 still cause similar problems with other aircraft ?

    To be perfectly honest, the log.txt doesn't seem to give any other indications of what might have gone wrong.

    Except perhaps ...

    My last piece of advice is that it's always best to install X-plane to the Desktop (which is the default), rather than to a C: or D: directory.
    Last edited by RatRace; 03-19-2015 at 02:10 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-03-2013, 05:00 AM
  2. X Plane 10 Will Not Load Past the Default 747.
    By nhancock12 in forum X-Plane
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-29-2011, 05:42 PM
  3. To load or not to load Ultimate Terrain
    By TBenn in forum FS2004
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-06-2010, 04:04 PM
  4. To load or not to load fsx
    By TBenn in forum FSX
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-16-2009, 12:53 PM
  5. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-20-2008, 02:00 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •