My Quick Review On Designing Scenery for X-Plane

ricardo_NY1

Thought I'd write up a short summary of what I have learned about designing scenery for X-Plane for those out there who may want to get started. I have successfully used tools like Sbuilder, Coastline Maker Airport for Windows and several others for creating scenery for FS2004. With that said, I am no expert in scenery design for either MSFS or X-Plane, but I'll share my opinions and give some insight for those interested or who have considered investing their time in creating X-Plane scenery..

What appears to be the main and most popular tool at the moment is WED or World Editor. My first impression of the program was that it would have minimal or narrow ability, something like Afcad which allowed you to do several things but not everything. I discovered very quickly that you can do tons of things with WED, and the learning curve is easy. The basic help material that you can access from within the program will guide a beginner through most of the things that can be done. Other tasks such as photoscenery with orthoimagery do deserve reading through some of the threads that cover the topic in better detail. Some of the things that I liked about designing scenery for X-Plane using WED, particularly in comparison to trying to achieve the same or similar results for MSFS are as follows,

1) Very easy and intuitive way of adding taxi lines, all manner of markings like hold short lines, taxi signs, runway and taxi edge lighting, etc.(This is something that takes some skill to make it look good for both FS2004 and FSX.

2) Very shallow learning curve. You can do some pretty significant work without the trial and error/experimentation that is involved with scenery design in MSFS. I was able to put a good sized dent on a small local airport in my area in a manner of 3 hours the day I installed the program.