Scenery.CFG file error..I don't know which scenery is in error.

gdr1944

When you see the message, right down the Area#.

After you shut down FSX, navigate to C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\FSX and open the Scenery.cfg with Notepad.

Find (Ctrl+F) [Area.nnn] where nnn= the number from the message.

Note the Title= line from that entry.

Change Active=TRUE to Active=FALSE. This will stop the message.

Start FSX and go to the Scenery Library. Find the entry that matches the Title= line.

If this is an addon you have gotten rid of, delete that entry from the Scenery Library.

Optional- delete the SceneryConfigEditor and do all of your scenery management in the Scenery Library. It works just fine.

peace,

the Bean

WWOD---What Would Opa Do? Farewell, my freind (sp)

Never argue with idiots.

They drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

• 1 year later...
Hello all. I am adding to this older thread because my problem is much the same. I am new to simming, (weeks, in fact.) and I am getting 'Scenery.CFG file error' after rather ineptly attempting to add files as addons. So I don't do any further damage, will the programme still run as it should if I just ignore the file error message, or will I find a problem somewhere down the line. Thanks
Hold my beer and watch this...

Hello all. I am adding to this older thread because my problem is much the same. I am new to simming, (weeks, in fact.) and I am getting 'Scenery.CFG file error' after rather inemptly attempting to add files as addons. So I don't do any further damage, will the programme still run as it should if I just ignore the file error message, or will I find a problem somewhere down the line. Thanks

"Scenery.CFG" file error messages will appear if you have deleted a scenery file installed before deleting it from the Scenery Library. The Sim is still looking for that missing scenery file.

Still thinking about a new flightsim only computer!  ✈️

The Bean answered ths perfectly.