Thread: Pilot Profile: Tsetse

Default Pilot Profile: Tsetse

Hello,

I am A South Korean who has lived in Indonesia for 12 years, and now I am studying in the United States. What does this mean? A very confused national identity.

I was introduced to aviation when I was in 2nd grade. A friend's father was a mechanic, but he really enjoyed flying his addon Maule in FS2002. I decided I'd like to give the flight sim a shot, so I loaded up a flight in a 737 and took off, eventually reaching a 60* climb pitch. Needless to say, the flight didn't end very well.

Flight sim has gotten me to love aviation. Despite numerous groundings (by parents), I always found a way to still fly the sim. Over the years, I spent the majority of my free time doing something with aviation, such as visiting the local airport and watching all sorts of airplanes take off and land.

Today, I am a college student in LeTourneau University in Longview, TX. LETU has a flight school and I am currently majoring in Aircraft Systems/Elec. Tech. Concentration (which will earn me my A&P) and minoring in Professional Flight (which will get me, in the end, my commercial with single-engine addon). My multiple airport visitations has helped me quite a bit; I am now in the university's Sting Precision Flight Team, set to compete in Aircraft ID this upcoming NIFA National competition in KOSU.

Although I do not have any official time logged in any airplane, I will begin my flight training this month in a Citabria 7ECA. I have, however, had previous non-official time in various missionary bushplanes such as the Cessna 208A Amphibian and 208B, the Pilatus PC-6B2/H4 Turbo Porter, and the Quest Kodiak 100. I hope to obtain my Private Pilot's by the end of the summer break. I have successfully passed all my prerequisite classes, and I have one more obstacle to get over: the FAA private pilot written exam. As I write, the exam is coming up in approx. 4 hours.