Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Running FSX with these hardware specs.

  1. Default Running FSX with these hardware specs.

    How would FSX run with this hardware?

    Intel Core i7 3770(3.40GHz)
    16GB DDR3 2TB HDD Capacity
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 630 2GB
    2TB 7200RPM Hard Drive
    Intel H77 Motherboard
    100W Power Supply

  2. #2

    Default

    kinda went overkill on that PSU.
    CPU: I7 4790K @ 4.5 ghz, GPU and CPU water cooled
    GPU: Gigabyte GTX 970
    MEM: Gskill Rippjaw 1866 17900
    MB: Gigabyte Gaming 5 Z97X

  3. Default

    lol, yeah. What do you recommend? Is everything else ok for FSX?
    Last edited by danielman1; 08-10-2013 at 12:52 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,749

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by torkermax View Post
    kinda went overkill on that PSU.
    He was making a joke! A lot of guys with their new systems are running 600-650 Watt PSU. Some are even higher at 950-1000Watt. They stick a skillet on top and fry eggs while flying! Wow, I just looked at mine..480 Watts! I'm impressed!
    Last edited by mrzippy; 08-10-2013 at 01:03 PM.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    No flight Sim installed until I get a new computer.

  5. Default

    ok, do you think I need an upgraded power supply? What do you recommend especially on a budget. Are the specs that I mentioned able to run FSX on very high settings?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Imlay City, Michigan
    Posts
    8,632

    Default

    100W PSU?!? Typo? I haven't seen that small of a PSU since the original Pentium was released.
    It may not even boot up, or, load the drivers.
    EVGA GT 630 System Requirements:
    Minimum of a 350 Watt power supply. (Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 20 Amps.)...Don
    HAF 932 Adv, PC P&C 950w, ASUS R4E,i7-3820 5.0GHz(MCR320-XP 6 fans wet), GTX 970 FTW
    16GB DDR3-2400, 128GB SAMSUNG 830(Win 7 Ult x64), 512GB SAMSUNG 840 Pro(FSX P3D FS9)
    WD 1TB Black(FS98, CFS2&3, ROF, etc.), WD 2TB Black-(Storage/Backup)
    Active Sky Next, Rex4 TD/Soft Clouds

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,749

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danielman1 View Post
    ok, do you think I need an upgraded power supply? What do you recommend especially on a budget. Are the specs that I mentioned able to run FSX on very high settings?
    Your specs are nowhere near what's needed to run on high settings, especially with any payware aircraft, scenery, or weather programs. Now also if you have AI packages installed and high settings for AI aircraft, that will slow you down even more. After reading Don's post I think I have light bulbs that burn hotter than 100 watts!
    Last edited by mrzippy; 08-10-2013 at 01:37 PM.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    No flight Sim installed until I get a new computer.

  8. Default

    yup you're right. I'm sorry for the typo. It says its only 300W; which is still below the minimum of what you mentioned.

  9. #9

    Default

    if you want to use airbus pmdg the gt630 can be slow frame at cocpit view

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    232

    Default

    The minimum specs required to run FSX with demanding add-ons at decent frames IMO is:

    1. CPU-- 3570K or 3770K preferably overclocked somewhere north of 4 Ghz.

    2. Memory-- 8 Gb of low CL 1600 Mhz or higher RAM

    3. GPU-- NVIDIA 660TI or better

    4. MOBO-- Depends on CPU choice but for above suggestions, a mid to high range Z77 board with a good overclocking utility and decent memory controller. I prefer ASUS.

    5.--PSU-- 600+ watt 80+ gold certified

    Good luck and regards!
    I7 3770K @ 4.5 Ghz, Asus Z77pro, NVIDIA 670FTW, 2 Samsung 840 pro 256 Gb, 8 Gb Corsair Vengeance 1866 Mhz . Corsair 850W modular

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How would these computer specs run FSX? I know nothing about computer specs
    By reidospeedo in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-22-2013, 06:50 AM
  2. Will these specs MAX OUT FS2004....How will they fair with FSX?
    By urcaptainspeaking in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-20-2008, 02:00 PM
  3. How are these specs for FSX?
    By jdl571 in forum FSX
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-15-2007, 09:00 AM
  4. Will FSX run good on these specs?
    By n612ua in forum FSX
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-02-2007, 05:52 PM
  5. Will these specs run FSX?
    By mrc in forum FSX
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-28-2006, 04:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •