Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Pilot Profile: Nels Anderson

Blog Entries

Cool Pilot Profile: Nels Anderson

OK, let's kick off this forum.

Compared to some here my pilot "career" has not been exactly exciting but I have been licensed now for 21 years and have over 1000 hours of flight time. I'm not a professional, just an aviation enthusiast who is happy to fly a small plane and does not have to go too far.

I did get started because of flightsimming though. My initial interest in aviation was doing things like going to airshows and museums but at some point I discovered a very early version of Flight Simulator. Getting involved in that hobby let me meet real pilots, one of whom offered some of us flightsim fans a ride at a local airport. That soon got me hooked and I went and took lessons and was soon a pilot myself.

Most of my flying has been in a Piper PA28-181 Archer II. Some may remember that about ten years ago DreamFleet made a version of this very plane for FS2002 and later FS2004. I'm pretty tall and don't fit into some planes, even some of the bigger ones, but the Archer is a perfect fit for me.

Remember Meigs Field? If you're an old time flightsimmer you surely do as it was the default airport for many versions. One of my most memorable real world flights was a trip there with several flightsim friends, allowing us the chance to land in real life on the runway we'd landing on virtually so many times:

Name:  cgx1.gif
Views: 1065
Size:  169.1 KB

I've belonged to AOPA and EAA for most of my flying career. I'm active in my local EAA 196 Chapter (www.eaa196.com) where our favorite chapter activity is the Young Eagles (www.youngeagles.org) program that introduces kids to aviation. As part of that program I've given over 500 kids introductory plane rides. That's a lot of kids! I always hope that some may go on to careers in aviation or at least come away with a better understanding of something that we all love.