Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Cab files

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    11

    Default Cab files

    Could someone tell me please where I find the CAB file. I see in some of the wonderful freeware there is a need to place text in this file but I am unable to see it. Mostly dealing with FSX.
    Many thanks

  2. #2

    Default

    You need to be more explicit - what/which CAB file?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Imlay City, Michigan
    Posts
    8,632

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DFC View Post
    Could someone tell me please where I find the CAB file. I see in some of the wonderful freeware there is a need to place text in this file but I am unable to see it. Mostly dealing with FSX.
    Many thanks
    You cannot directly edit ANY *.cab. It is not a file, it is a compressed folder. As such you can't add text to it. Re-read the instructions.
    Before you "Extract" a *.cab create a backup...Don
    HAF 932 Adv, PC P&C 950w, ASUS R4E,i7-3820 5.0GHz(MCR320-XP 6 fans wet), GTX 970 FTW
    16GB DDR3-2400, 128GB SAMSUNG 830(Win 7 Ult x64), 512GB SAMSUNG 840 Pro(FSX P3D FS9)
    WD 1TB Black(FS98, CFS2&3, ROF, etc.), WD 2TB Black-(Storage/Backup)
    Active Sky Next, Rex4 TD/Soft Clouds

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    18,418

    Default

    Sometimes a designer of some freeware aircraft will give you a new Cabinet File to add to the panel folder of your aircraft. In my example below is my 737-800 folder and the Cab file I replaced is outside the panel folder for safe keeping. These are not really editable just replaced as a whole Cabinet File. I agree with garryrussell! TEXT is added to the .Config file!

    P.S. Planes are meant to be flown NOT JUMPED OUT OF!

    Attachment 136594
    Last edited by mrzippy; 11-05-2012 at 10:00 AM.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    No flight Sim installed until I get a new computer.

  5. #5

    Default

    The only place you'd normally have to add text to as given in a download would be the .cfg

    You don't add text to.cab files which as mentioned above are not easily edited.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-14-2007, 07:44 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-19-2003, 02:38 PM
  3. Missing .CAB files.
    By rousea in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-19-2002, 03:41 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-03-2002, 11:46 AM
  5. cab files
    By tracy in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-05-2002, 08:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •