Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Panel Merge

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Posts
    9

    Post Panel Merge

    Does anyone know how to do a panel merge, I have the Wilco C208 and the Carenado C208 i want to apply the Wilco 2D panel with out losing the Carendo VC

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    2,365

    Default

    You can fairly easily add the wilco 2D panel to the Carenado but not vice versa. Backup the Carenado panel.cfg; copy all the 2D panel lines from the Wilco panel.cfg (usually everything above the first Vcockpit section) and paste into the Carenado panel.cfg, overwriting the Carenado 2D lines; copy all necessary bmps from the Wilco panel folder to the Carenado panel folder. If there are gauges in the Wilco folder, whether gau files, cab files, or an xml folder, copy these to the Carenado folder (but do not overwrite any gauges there, if that's an issue, copy the gau and/or cab files to the main FS9 gauge folder).

    This should work, if there are no gauge incompatibilities (such as custom gauges linked to a particular aircraft which will not work in another, nav/radio/radar gauges which conflict with ones in the VC, etc.; you can work around such issues by swapping gauges for ones that won't conflict, if that doesn't negate the reason for mixing the panels). The worst that can happen is the plane will CTD the sim when loading, and you can always delete the new panel.cfg and reinstate the original and be back where you started (the extra bmps and gauges in the folder will be ignored so you can leave them).

    If all you want is the Wilco panel graphics but keep the Carenado gauges, there won't be any conflicts, of course, but a bit more work. Do all the above steps except copying the gauges. Open the original panel.cfg in notepad and the new panel.cfg in another notepad side by side, look at the first gauge line in the new cfg and identify the gauge, find the equivalent gauge in the original cfg and copy just the gauge name, paste this into the new cfg overwriting that gauge name. Do this for all the gauges and save; this will replace the Wilco gauges with the Carenado gauges on the new panel graphic and they will be correctly positioned and sized.

    For example the new cfg may have "gauge.1=Wilco_asi, 175,547,40,40" (without quotes)

    in the original cfg you find "gauge.5=Carenado_asi, 210,645,38,38"

    copy just the "Carenado_asi" from the original and paste it over the "Wilco_asi" in the new.

    Chances are the two panels don't have the same number of gauges; if you use all the Carenado gauges and still have Wilco gauges remaining, either delete them or copy those gauges from the Wilco folder; if you fill all the Wilco slots and still have Carenado gauges remaining you'll have to manually add them or leave them out.
    Last edited by jgf; 08-15-2012 at 06:22 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. DF 737 panel merge for FS?
    By atr_42_500 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-30-2005, 07:43 AM
  2. IFDG A320 PSS panel merge problem...
    By Leo112 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-11-2005, 11:02 PM
  3. aircraft/panel merge gauge problems
    By gwwbm in forum FS2002
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-18-2004, 01:44 PM
  4. IFDG 757 PIC panel merge?
    By planecrazy in forum FS2002
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-15-2003, 02:49 PM
  5. Error with PIC/POSKY panel merge
    By lazerin in forum FS2002
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-11-2002, 09:13 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •