Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Victoria BC Airport ILS problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Church Stretton, Shropshire, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    270

    Default Victoria BC Airport ILS problems

    I've tried an ILS landing on Runway 270 on the airport at Victoria BC (CYYJ).

    Used many aircraft including Quality Wings 757 and Justflight 757.

    I turn north from Friday Island at 1600 feet, with the autopilot set on:
    NAV
    Course 270
    ILS turned on
    Nav 1 tuned to 108.70.

    After intercepting the ILS antenna, all times I've tried, the aircraft will veer to the NE, seemingly trying to land on Rwy 9.
    Also the aircraft loses height quickly; perhaps I should set altitude hold to 1600 feet until final.
    I've succeeded once.

    Am I doing something wrong?

    Many thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Victoria Chart 04-14-12 #2.JPG 
Views:	593 
Size:	173.9 KB 
ID:	124648  
    Last edited by Keith100; 04-14-2012 at 01:16 PM. Reason: wrong runway, more information

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Squamish BC
    Posts
    192

    Default

    Shouldn't your course be set to 267?
    Windows 7 Home Premium, Sabertooth Z77mobo, Intel Core i7 [email protected], 8gb DDR3 SDRAM ram, GeForce GTX 650ti, Corsair 650W psu.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Canada.
    Posts
    151

    Default

    We could use a screenshot of your panel as this happens: once the localizer is captured you should be switching the a/p from 'Nav' to 'Approach'.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Imlay City, Michigan
    Posts
    8,632

    Default

    Common ILS/DME frequencies can often cause that problem in FSX. Verify that IYJ(../-.--/.---) is tuned before engaging App Hold.
    I don't have either of those planes, but, most of my fully functional MFDs also display the tuned Nav/ADF Alpha ID.

    When I run into that kind of situation. I set the Stby freq on Nav1, and wait until I'm on my base leg, or 30deg to final via ATC, before flipping it to the Active...Don
    HAF 932 Adv, PC P&C 950w, ASUS R4E,i7-3820 5.0GHz(MCR320-XP 6 fans wet), GTX 970 FTW
    16GB DDR3-2400, 128GB SAMSUNG 830(Win 7 Ult x64), 512GB SAMSUNG 840 Pro(FSX P3D FS9)
    WD 1TB Black(FS98, CFS2&3, ROF, etc.), WD 2TB Black-(Storage/Backup)
    Active Sky Next, Rex4 TD/Soft Clouds

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Church Stretton, Shropshire, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    270

    Default

    Thanks very much. I will work on your suggestions.

  6. #6

    Default

    Runway 09 and 27 both use the same freq for ILS, you most likely are locking on to the 09 ILS. You can confirm this by listening to the ident.

    Good luck
    Bruce
    I5-2700 3.10GHz,Dual AMD Radeon 6850,6 gb Ram. Win 7 64, ASE,AH 3 X 32" monitors, 1 17 inch.

  7. #7

    Default

    That's why there's morse code identifiers. Turn the audio on for Nav 1 radio and check to see if you're getting the same morse code. If not... then you got the wrong runway. Both RWYs use the same freq and a common freq in FSX might be a problem, I don't know. I'll try flying this today. I've flown this approach and (09) in real life many times and for a flight test, in real the tower just flips a switch to change direction of signal and morse code identifier. It has happened were someone was on approach and they start getting opposite indications and they've asked tower about it and they just flip the switch.

  8. #8

    Default

    The RWY 27 localizer is offset.
    Dave Opper
    HiFi Support Manager
    HiFi Technologies, Inc.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    lost between how it is and how it ought to be
    Posts
    6,950

    Default

    A couple points if I may.

    First off, Friday Harbor is a town on San Juan Island, there is no Friday Island.

    Second, asking an autopilot to grab a localizer at close to a 90 degree heading is asking too much. Shallow up your approach angle to less than 45 degrees, which means you might want to be further to the East.

    I also think 1600 feet ASL is too low, I would be 600 to 800 feet higher. Intercepting the glideslope at 1600 feet in a transport category aircraft does not give you much time to prepare for landing. The folks on San Juan Island will be happier also

    peace,
    the Bean
    WWOD---What Would Opa Do? Farewell, my freind (sp)

    Never argue with idiots.
    They drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Church Stretton, Shropshire, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    270

    Default Image of cockpit on approach

    Name:  Victoria landing cockpit #4 small 04-14-12.jpg
Views: 622
Size:  180.5 KB

    Actually I turn north about 9 miles south of Friday Harbor. And thanks I will be at 2200 feet.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Nanaimo to Victoria BC - Eaglesoft Beechjet 400a
    By DK8290 in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-08-2007, 10:44 PM
  2. Victoria BC - Bravo Jon and Holger
    By btwallis in forum FS2004
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-23-2006, 01:16 PM
  3. Landclass fro Victoria, BC?
    By memphian in forum FS2004
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-04-2003, 06:16 PM
  4. Victoria BC scenery shots?
    By GreenMachine in forum FS2004
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-29-2003, 12:20 AM
  5. ###Real Pics!###Victoria Intl., BC, Canada### Part 1###
    By GreenMachine in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-28-2002, 03:52 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •