Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Recovery disks and reformatting, my first time and it isn't going smooth

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    The flight training center, Ca
    Posts
    4,100
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Recovery disks and reformatting, my first time and it isn't going smooth

    I'm trying to do a clean wipe on my computer, and it's doing it's best to not work. I get this:

    copy file (that's the name of the pop-up window that comes up while still on my first disk. The recovery disks are brand new.)

    Invalid MS-DOS function.

    PREINST6.SWM
    Type: SWM File
    Size 644MB
    Date Modified 9/2/2009 11:25 AM

    Then I have the options to try again, skip or cancel.

    Any ideas as to what on earth this means?
    FAA Certified Flight Instructor, ATP/Commercial Pilot and Airframe/Powerplant mechanic CFI/CFII/MEII/ATP-MEL/A&P
    American Corporate Pilot


    AMD X6 1090T black edition CPU, liquid cooled
    NVIDIA GTX 480 1.5Gb GPU
    8G DDR3-1600 RAM
    3TB storage, plain hard drives

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Fort Myers Fl.
    Posts
    1,186

    Default

    Is this OS an OEM disk or did you purchase a retail version of the OS? Maybe it's late, but I have don't see what version of Windows you are trying to reformat.
    Bob G.
    Intel i7 7700K 4.5 Ghz, GTX 1080 SC 1TB 7200RPM HDD, Samsung 500Gb SSHD, 750W PSU, P3DV4, Windows 10 64 bit Home Premium.REX,GEX,UTX. UTLive

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    The flight training center, Ca
    Posts
    4,100
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bgets View Post
    Is this OS an OEM disk or did you purchase a retail version of the OS? Maybe it's late, but I have don't see what version of Windows you are trying to reformat.
    Bob G.
    These are the default recovery disks for a Windows 7 installation on a Toshiba laptop.

    Does it matter if it's a new hard drive? Is that what's holding me up?


    Thanks for the fast response. I'm trying to get after this tonight.
    FAA Certified Flight Instructor, ATP/Commercial Pilot and Airframe/Powerplant mechanic CFI/CFII/MEII/ATP-MEL/A&P
    American Corporate Pilot


    AMD X6 1090T black edition CPU, liquid cooled
    NVIDIA GTX 480 1.5Gb GPU
    8G DDR3-1600 RAM
    3TB storage, plain hard drives

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Getting warmer now
    Posts
    8,560

    Default

    Many OEM recovery disks pull data from a hidden partition on the original drive. If you've replaced the hard drive, the OEM recovery program won't be able to find the files it needs.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    The flight training center, Ca
    Posts
    4,100
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loki View Post
    Many OEM recovery disks pull data from a hidden partition on the original drive. If you've replaced the hard drive, the OEM recovery program won't be able to find the files it needs.
    What's the fix?
    FAA Certified Flight Instructor, ATP/Commercial Pilot and Airframe/Powerplant mechanic CFI/CFII/MEII/ATP-MEL/A&P
    American Corporate Pilot


    AMD X6 1090T black edition CPU, liquid cooled
    NVIDIA GTX 480 1.5Gb GPU
    8G DDR3-1600 RAM
    3TB storage, plain hard drives

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Getting warmer now
    Posts
    8,560

    Default

    Use something like Acronis True Image or O&O DiskImage to move the contents of the original drive to the new one. Or go out and buy an OEM or retail copy of Windows and install that instead. Personally I like having my own copy of Windows that isn't loaded up with whatever "extras" the OEM decided to throw in.

    These are the default recovery disks for a Windows 7 installation on a Toshiba laptop.
    Just noticed this comment. Are these the original disks for this specific system? If not, what happened to the originals?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    The flight training center, Ca
    Posts
    4,100
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loki View Post
    Use something like Acronis True Image or O&O DiskImage to move the contents of the original drive to the new one. Or go out and buy an OEM or retail copy of Windows and install that instead. Personally I like having my own copy of Windows that isn't loaded up with whatever "extras" the OEM decided to throw in.



    Just noticed this comment. Are these the original disks for this specific system? If not, what happened to the originals?
    I have no idea where the originals are, so I asked the manufacturer to send me a new set. The old hard drive took a dive due to being frequently dumped to off while dealing with a virus.
    FAA Certified Flight Instructor, ATP/Commercial Pilot and Airframe/Powerplant mechanic CFI/CFII/MEII/ATP-MEL/A&P
    American Corporate Pilot


    AMD X6 1090T black edition CPU, liquid cooled
    NVIDIA GTX 480 1.5Gb GPU
    8G DDR3-1600 RAM
    3TB storage, plain hard drives

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Imlay City, Michigan
    Posts
    8,632

    Default

    It may be possible to borrow another win 7 disk(same version 32/64b), install it, then use your recovery disks to correct it.
    I've never tried anything like that, just sharing a thought...Don
    HAF 932 Adv, PC P&C 950w, ASUS R4E,i7-3820 5.0GHz(MCR320-XP 6 fans wet), GTX 970 FTW
    16GB DDR3-2400, 128GB SAMSUNG 830(Win 7 Ult x64), 512GB SAMSUNG 840 Pro(FSX P3D FS9)
    WD 1TB Black(FS98, CFS2&3, ROF, etc.), WD 2TB Black-(Storage/Backup)
    Active Sky Next, Rex4 TD/Soft Clouds

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 1998
    Location
    The flight training center, Ca
    Posts
    4,100
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fxsttcb View Post
    It may be possible to borrow another win 7 disk(same version 32/64b), install it, then use your recovery disks to correct it.
    I've never tried anything like that, just sharing a thought...Don
    I thought that the recovery and windows discs were pretty much synonymous?
    FAA Certified Flight Instructor, ATP/Commercial Pilot and Airframe/Powerplant mechanic CFI/CFII/MEII/ATP-MEL/A&P
    American Corporate Pilot


    AMD X6 1090T black edition CPU, liquid cooled
    NVIDIA GTX 480 1.5Gb GPU
    8G DDR3-1600 RAM
    3TB storage, plain hard drives

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Imlay City, Michigan
    Posts
    8,632

    Default

    This is what prompted my thought:
    Quote Originally Posted by loki View Post
    Many OEM recovery disks pull data from a hidden partition on the original drive. If you've replaced the hard drive, the OEM recovery program won't be able to find the files it needs.
    As I didn't/don't know if that would be the case, I had the idea that possibly a windows install, then recovery, might be what you need.
    I don't have a clue what is, and/or isn't, on a "recovery" disk, compared to a full installation disk...Don
    HAF 932 Adv, PC P&C 950w, ASUS R4E,i7-3820 5.0GHz(MCR320-XP 6 fans wet), GTX 970 FTW
    16GB DDR3-2400, 128GB SAMSUNG 830(Win 7 Ult x64), 512GB SAMSUNG 840 Pro(FSX P3D FS9)
    WD 1TB Black(FS98, CFS2&3, ROF, etc.), WD 2TB Black-(Storage/Backup)
    Active Sky Next, Rex4 TD/Soft Clouds

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. fsx se lag after reformatting pc
    By Yajvan in forum FSX
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-26-2016, 02:07 AM
  2. would reformatting rid my hd of viruses?
    By CessnaFlyer in forum PC Software Tech
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-23-2010, 08:20 PM
  3. reformatting computer
    By wray in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-29-2009, 07:52 PM
  4. Before Reformatting hard drive....
    By mrc in forum FS2002
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-04-2002, 06:03 AM
  5. Reformatting HD with WinXP--How?
    By Steve0616 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-24-2002, 09:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •