Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: 727 Config problems Vista 64 bit

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Naples, Florida
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Paul...thanks for response...at least no one can say I do not present some interesting problems....This is a weird one for sure...I do not understand why the registration executable is not working...in my system...It is a brand new system as well...with a fresh current load of Vista 64. I tried downloading another copy of the RegSvr32.exe..and got same result...I did notice that throughout the flight 1 forum and dream flight forum...these same errors have occured several other times...with other users...but the threads seemed to run out..with no explanation or fix encountered.
    If I find out something from Microsoft on Monday..I will be sure and let you and Steve know about it.
    As always I appreciate your help..

    Regards,

    Robert

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Naples, Florida
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Golding View Post
    I'll ask Steve at Flight 1 to take a look at this thread as it's Flight 1 that provided both T-O-M & C-O-M, so they may know the answer.
    Paul, Steve, and Alistair..I'm working with Microsoft on this problem. Will advise as to what we find. Seems my Vista system is not allowing execution of the Regsvr.exe command for some reason.
    in meantime, I backdoored the sound and 727 configuration functions, to eliminate the annoying engine and other system failures/fires etc.
    And set my various sound levels accordingly to levels I like in the 727.cfg and the cold and dark.cfg files.
    Everything is now working as desired, except TOM. Weight and balance I took care of in the aircraft.cfg file and can manipulate as desired there.
    Thanks for responses and help...Will keep you advised if we find something..so someone else does not have to go through this, if it happens to them.

    Many regards, to an exceptional team at FlightOne and Dreamflight.

    Robert

  3. Default

    First of all when ever you are registering a 32 bit file in a x64 version of windows you have to make sure that you are in the C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ directory and run regsvr32 filename.dll,etc if you don't run regsvr32 from the SysWOW64 when registering a 32 bit file it will automatically use regsvr32 from the system32 directory which is for registering 64 bit files.

    So as others have said make sure the SmartSubClass.dll is registered first step would be open the command prompt type cd \Windows\SysWOW64 enter now type regsvr32 SmartSubClass.dll after that is done download this update http://www.flight1.com/dx7vb.exe as it installs a few files that is missing for the config manager to operate.

    Cheers

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Naples, Florida
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Comepso
    thanks for suggestion. However I have already tried this about 5 times. the only thing that does work is loading of the registry fix program dx7vb.exe That worked with no problem. Nomatter where or how I try to execute the regsvr32 command..it does not work with either SmartSubClass.dll or with Comdlg32.ocx or .dll
    I have discussed the problem with Microsoft. and they are as well confused as to why it does not work on a brand new out of the box system..purchased from Lenovo with all Microsoft updates added.
    I have tried running the command from a Safe start position as well with no change in error messages.
    basically I have abandoned any hopes of getting the 727 config to work..or TOM. I instead went directly to the 727config file and the cold and dark file and takeoff file in FS9, directory...and edited the values there that I wanted in terms of sound level and failures. I will not be able to use TOM...but I can live with that, since the folks at Flight 1 do not seem to have any idea why this is the way it is. I also noticed many others have experieneced very similair problems with Vista64, and some of the forum posts were also dead ends. Somehting is wrong.but I have no clue now what that might be.
    Again thanks for suggestion.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Naples, Florida
    Posts
    33

    Default 727 Config Problems Vista 64 Bit

    As a followup for anyone who might run across this problem in future. I was finally able to get everything working as far as the 727 Configurator and TOM 1.0.3
    The following steps were required, and seem to be a slight variation from what others seem to have found.
    1. I disabled UAC as before.
    2. I also edited the advanced option settings under Windows defender, to include the following.
    files to be excluded by windows defender, are the 2 files and their folder variations.
    C:\windows\system32\SmartSubclass.dll
    C:\windows\system32\comdlg.dll, and comdlg.ocx
    C:\windows\SysWOW64\SmartSubclass.dll
    C:\windows\SysWOW64\comdlg.dll, and comdlg.ocx

    3. I then tried running the regsvr32 command on both Smartsubclass/dll, and on Comdlg/ocx. and it failed with the aforementioned errors.

    4. I then did as Comepso suggested , and using the RUN feature. changed directories to C:\windows\sysWOW64, and ran the regsvr32 command on both SmartSubClass.dll and Comdlg32.ocx, and again the command failed.
    I then deleted on suspicion that the regsvr32 command was somehow still seeing the 2 files previously loaded into SYSTEM32, I deleted these files from SYSTEM32, and again ran the regsvr32 command on both files, from the sysWOW64 direcotry, and this time both files registered normally.

    5. I was then able to enter both the 727 Configurator, and the TOM version 1.0.3 programs, and execute normally.

    6.Lastly I reenabled Windows defendor and UAC. and Flight sim executes normally displaying additonal liveries that were generated normally.

    6. If prior to any of these steps, one had loaded the SmartSubclass.dl and Comdlg32.ocx files to the SYSTEM32 directory, the program regsvr32 when it is run, regardless of whether it is run from the RUN feature, or manually from the CMD option, and changing directories to C:\Windows\sysWOW64. it fails to run, unless and until you go in using Windows explorer and manually delete any previously added Smartsubclass and Comdlg32.ocx files from the SYSTEM32, folder.

    7. Once these files were deleted and the regsvr32 command was run, then everything worked normally.

    I hope this helps anyone who might run up against the same problem in the future.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ponte Vedra Beach,Fl
    Posts
    66

    Default

    I did all that and the config manager worked but I had to do a full recovery on my HP desktop and now I tried doing everything the same and I can not get the manager to work.I have put all the files in system32 and sysWOW64 and ran the registertool and that worked fine added the file from Flight1 and reinstalled the 727 and the manager still does not work.I will keep trying as I love the 727.

    JeffG

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Naples, Florida
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffreymg View Post
    I did all that and the config manager worked but I had to do a full recovery on my HP desktop and now I tried doing everything the same and I can not get the manager to work.I have put all the files in system32 and sysWOW64 and ran the registertool and that worked fine added the file from Flight1 and reinstalled the 727 and the manager still does not work.I will keep trying as I love the 727.

    JeffG
    Jeffery,
    Remove the Smartsubclass.dll and the Comdlg32.ocx from the System32 directory...it will not work if it is in that directory on 64 bit Vista...Thats what I determined was mny problem..
    I checked also with Microsoft today, and they indicated a definate conflict in execution of the regsvr32 command if the 2 files are in both the system 32 directory and the sysWOW64 directory. Make sure the UAC is disabled, and make sure that the 2 files are also in the defender exclude path. under advanced options.
    if you have any virus protection software...either disable it completely ..so it does not try to execute and remove or quarantine the 2 files it finds in sysWOW64, or if you can put them in the virus protection softwares..excluded files path.
    If these things are not done..the builtin security protections of Vista64 will prohibit execution of the regsvr32 command. and registration of these 2 files according to Microsoft.
    Let me know how it goes.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ponte Vedra Beach,Fl
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Thanks,
    I now have the cfg manager working.I think the fix needs to be a sticky for the future readers with the same problems.

    JeffG

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Naples, Florida
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Jeffery...
    Thanks for feedback..glad to hear you got that working..Hoped my info helped in that regard..

  10. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Boomervet View Post
    Paul, Steve, and Alistair..I'm working with Microsoft on this problem. Will advise as to what we find. Seems my Vista system is not allowing execution of the Regsvr.exe command for some reason.
    in meantime, I backdoored the sound and 727 configuration functions, to eliminate the annoying engine and other system failures/fires etc.
    And set my various sound levels accordingly to levels I like in the 727.cfg and the cold and dark.cfg files.
    Everything is now working as desired, except TOM. Weight and balance I took care of in the aircraft.cfg file and can manipulate as desired there.
    Thanks for responses and help...Will keep you advised if we find something..so someone else does not have to go through this, if it happens to them.

    Many regards, to an exceptional team at FlightOne and Dreamflight.

    Robert
    Robert,
    So did you get the C-O-M working or not? You mention you manually changed the aircraft.cfg at the end?
    Thanks for your input.
    regards,
    Macs

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-05-2011, 08:13 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-05-2008, 12:17 PM
  3. Upgrading from Vista 32 bit to Vista 64 bit?
    By dbaliko in forum PC Software Tech
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-18-2008, 01:10 PM
  4. Upgrading from Vista 32 bit to Vista 64 bit?
    By dbaliko in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-14-2008, 08:12 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-07-2007, 01:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •