Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Increase memory DDR2: 2 Gb for 4 Gb ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Namur, Belgium.
    Posts
    169

    Default Increase memory DDR2: 2 Gb for 4 Gb ?

    What benefit can I expect by increase memory DDR2: 2 Gb for 4 Gb in FSX ?

    Thank you for your advices !

  2. #2

    Default

    Are you running a 64 bit operating system? Because if not, 32 bit XP or Vista will not use all 4 GB of the RAM, you will only see 2.45-3.15 GB of RAM being used....that is why I would only build a 4 GB and up system if I was running a 64 bit OS. Hope this helps.
    Please visit paralleldesignsonline.com for some of my digital art....

  3. #3

    Default

    I went from 2Gb to 4GB but I found absolutely no detectable difference in FSX performance. You may find this of interest as it shows (among other tests) a 2GB versus 4Gb test with FSX:
    Go here and select item "AN-804: Gaming Performance Analysis - 4GB vs 2GB":
    http://www.corsairmemory.com/appnotes/default.aspx

    As you can see, Corsair's FSX test showed a very, very small performance improvement when FSX is run with 4GB. IMO, any improvement shown in the Corsair test is so small as to be negligible and is likely the reason I found no benefit (in FSX FPS) when I went to 4GB. Bottom line, they said FSX runs fine with 2GB but if you want to gain a bit (make that a very tiny bit) of headroom at high detail settings then go with 4GB.

    Some games seem to benefit more by having 4GB so, if you run other games, 4GB might well be worth doing (speaking strictly of gaming performance). Other than gaming performance and regardless of whether you have a 32-bit or 64-bit OS (a 32-bit OS will only report about 3.2GB or so), having 4GB should help lower program load times and speed up task switching.


    ....Noell
    Last edited by noell; 08-19-2008 at 09:38 AM.

  4. #4

    Default

    If you're getting crashes or Out of Memory Errors, you might try using the 3GB switch (instead of getting more ram)

    https://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/showt...ght=3gb+switch


    |Win7 x64 | Gigabyte P67A UD4 B3 | Intel i5 2500k @ 4.2GHz | eVGA GTX570 1280MB | 2x4 GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance | 1TB Samsung Spinpoint | 120GB Mushin Callisto SSD | 36GB Raptor | 250GB Seagate | Seasonic X750w | Corsair 650D|

Similar Threads

  1. Video Card Nvidia GTX 960 2 gb or Nvidia GTX 1050 ti 4 gb
    By PE 561 in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-22-2017, 02:05 AM
  2. Ram 4 GB, 8 GB or 16 GB
    By usb777 in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-22-2014, 11:05 PM
  3. has anyone had sucess with 4gig ddr2 memory chips?
    By RAULDK in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-06-2010, 11:56 PM
  4. Dual Channel DDR2 Memory
    By cianpars in forum FSX
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-02-2009, 06:10 AM
  5. 1 GB memory vs. 2 GB memory running FS9 and Windows XP
    By jclay13 in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-18-2006, 11:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •