Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Any unusual experiences in flying. (real life)

mcholly Guest

Default Any unusual experiences in flying. (real life)

Has anyone ever had a strange experience while flying in real life? Either as a passenger or pilot. As a pilot, I have only had an engine fuel pump failure, so thats a good thing!

Default RE: Any unusual experiences in flying. (real life)

Well, its not unusual but funny! During our break in groundschool, me and some others were standing outside on the deck watchin some student pilot on final. He was going left and right, up and down, smashed into the ground, bounced up, back down, back up and down but still nose high for half of a really really long runway...I haven't even bounced a plane yet!
    Cheers
    https://www.flightsim.com/images/noimage.png
    Virtual Air Canada Tango: http://www.geocities.com/flyvact/main.html
    CYYJ

3. Default RE: Any unusual experiences in flying. (real life)

You will believe me:-lol

4. Default RE: Any unusual experiences in flying. (real life)

I have. And I didn't do it for a while into my training. Even when I first started. But one day I was doing short field landings and I don't know what the heck happened but it wasn't great. I bounced about 6-10 feet back into the air. I was with my instructor and I told him, "I think that is the worst landing I have ever had." He said, "oh don't worry everyone bounces now and then." So you just wait. I met a guy who stalled a plane about 30 feet from the ground. Said he messed up the nose gear and hurt his back.

Flashpoint Guest

When Delta was running the FLUF (737-200) into KLEX in the early 90's, I got the pleasure of watching one blow all the main tires out from a 20 foot stall/drop. Now that I reflect back, that is the first time I cursed too. I left out a loud "HOLY SHNIKES" from the observation deck with about 25 people in it. Although I didn't say SHNIKES ;-)

J.Garrett
    MidContinent Air Services, LLC
    KLEX