Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: No progressive taxi in FSX

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bournemouth, Dorset, England.
    Posts
    4

    Default No progressive taxi in FSX

    I have installed FSX on a new Vista computer. Both FSX service packs 1 and 2 have been installed.

    After the IFR clearance is received, I press the appropriate button for Progressive Taxi (usually 3), but I don't get the pink track I was used to in FS9. In fact, I don't get anything despite switching the progressive taxi on and off a number of times.

    Any ideas, guys?

    Season's Greetings to you all.

    Buster
    Last edited by Buster; 12-28-2007 at 11:38 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,519

    Default

    I had the same problem in SP2, but for me it only happens with the DX10 preview turned on, if thats the case for you, try switching that off...

    Otherwise, make sure you've got the latest drivers for video, Nvidia released a bunch of new ones just before christmas.

  3. #3

    Default

    Yeah DX10 plays havoc with progressive taxi. You have to view the aircraft in "top-down" to see the taxi arrows.

    Or you can just learn to read the taxi signs. Took me a while, I think I freaked out my sim passengers a few times pulling U turns and slamming on the brakes, but I'm getting the hang of it
    FSX and FS9
    Level-D 767-300ER,Wilco Airbus pack vol. 2,
    Wilco-PIC 737-300 and CRJ Legacy 600
    Aerosoft Budapest Ferihegy Airport, London Heathrow and Brussels + AES.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bournemouth, Dorset, England.
    Posts
    4

    Default

    As usual, guys, you have come up with the goods. Disabling DX10 preview has produced a line of brilliant yellow arrows.

    Many thanks for your input.

  5. #5

    Default No progressive taxi in FSX

    How do you select the DX10 preview on or off?

  6. #6

    Default

    Go into settings (where you see the sliders for 'Traffic, Aircraft' etc...)
    underneath there is a button labeled 'Customize' here you can fine tune the settings like screen resolution, traffic, weather details and so on, there is a tab right on the resolution page 'DX10 Preview' make sure it's not checked.
    Save the new configuration and restart FSX.
    FSX and FS9
    Level-D 767-300ER,Wilco Airbus pack vol. 2,
    Wilco-PIC 737-300 and CRJ Legacy 600
    Aerosoft Budapest Ferihegy Airport, London Heathrow and Brussels + AES.

  7. Default

    great

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Golfhotel View Post
    How do you select the DX10 preview on or off?
    First, do you have SP1/SP2?
    No DX10 option otherwise....

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mallcott View Post
    First, do you have SP1/SP2?
    No DX10 option otherwise....
    Good Point!

    Having said that years ago I had seemingly random troubles with scenery buildings and plants being black, water sometimes being totally black etc As well as the taxi arrows and other side issues that kept popping up. Someone much wiser than I suggested DX10 Preview can cause many unexpected scenery issues if left checked. So I turned it off and have been grateful for that advice ever since!


    Michael

  10. Default

    I had lost the progressive taxi lines when I last played FSX. Good information here.
    - James

    Intel i7-10700F 2.9 gigahertz - 16GB Memory DDR4 3000 megahertz - NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 Super 8GB - 480GB SSD + 1TB HDD - Windows 10

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. NO progressive taxi arrows !
    By kiri in forum FSX
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-18-2016, 06:48 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-25-2013, 06:40 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-25-2010, 06:25 PM
  4. Progressive Taxi No Show
    By fastade in forum Airport for Windows Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-30-2003, 10:58 AM
  5. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-02-2002, 09:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •