Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Any SGA DC-9 landinglight fix?

  1. #1

    Default Any SGA DC-9 landinglight fix?

    Hi,

    Thought I should install the SGA DC-9 again, after having used the JCA model for a while. However it struck me that one of the reasons why I havn´t used the SGA model, is for the bad landinglights (bad placement of the beam rays).

    So, I ask anyone who knows,...is there any landinglight fix for the SGA DC-9 model? :-)

    http://www.scandicair.com/images/sa_banner.gif

    [font color="#216561" size="1" face="verdana"]
    Dell Dimension 4600 P4/2.8 at 3.0 Ghz
    1024 Mb DDR333 Dual channel memory (2x256,1x512)
    AGP 256 Mb ATI Radeon X850 Pro ViVo, flashed to a X850 XT PE.
    Omega 2.6.87 (CAT 5.12)
    DirectX 9.0c
    W XP Home with SP2
    E171FPb Flat panel monitor 17"
    370Gb HD (120 GB Maxtor, 250GB Samsung) 7200rpm ATA
    Lacie 250Gb Extern HD

    Blogg: http://blogg.passagen.se/primeavi
    Files: http://library.avsim.net/search.php?...Go=Change+View

  2. #2

    Default RE: Any SGA DC-9 landinglight fix?

    There's nothing wrong with the lights...... in order to get the wing tip landing lights to work you need to lower the tail hook.

    The real bird, you needed to extend the landing lights down then turn them on. You may also need to assign a key to it.

    If you do that and turn ALL your lights on, you will have a taxi light from the nose gear, the wing tip landing light beams and the wing light beams that shine out the side.

    Hope that helps.

    (BTW) I tested the DC9 in FSX and other than a couple of tweaks to the aircraft.cfg file, she flew perfectly.

    Fraser

  3. #3

    Default RE: Any SGA DC-9 landinglight fix?

    Hi Fraser,

    Thanks for the info. However, I know already about how to asign the wingtip reflectors, but I was not asking for that. I am asking how to adjust the beams inorder to not dissapere in the horizon when I activate the wingtip landinglights, and how to adjust the taxi light beam to the center, instead of to the far left side as it is now. :-)

    Both the landing and taxilights should have the beam on the runway, not somewhere in the sky or to the left. :-)

    EDIT: Added pictures.

    On the first picture all lights are activated, including the wingtip lights which are folded down, but not shows on the runway. Note that the taxilight is placed to the far left side instead of cetered.

    http://www.scandicair.com/images/Image1.jpg

    On the second picture the same situation as the forst picture but seen from the cockpit.

    http://www.scandicair.com/images/Image2.jpg

    The third picture shows the situation with no taxilight activated. (only the wingtip landinglight activated) Note that the landinglights are not shown on the runway.

    http://www.scandicair.com/images/Image3.jpg


    http://www.scandicair.com/images/sa_banner.gif

    [font color="#216561" size="1" face="verdana"]
    Dell Dimension 4600 P4/2.8 at 3.0 Ghz
    1024 Mb DDR333 Dual channel memory (2x256,1x512)
    AGP 256 Mb ATI Radeon X850 Pro ViVo, flashed to a X850 XT PE.
    Omega 2.6.87 (CAT 5.12)
    DirectX 9.0c
    W XP Home with SP2
    E171FPb Flat panel monitor 17"
    370Gb HD (120 GB Maxtor, 250GB Samsung) 7200rpm ATA
    Lacie 250Gb Extern HD

    Blogg: http://blogg.passagen.se/primeavi
    Files: http://library.avsim.net/search.php?...Go=Change+View

  4. #4

    Default RE: Any SGA DC-9 landinglight fix?

    Are you using the dc9 in fs2004 or fsx. With the dc9 30 I'm using the lights are not behaving that way. I'm not sure as its been a long time, but I believe those lights work off of effect files, and if so, you may need to redownload them.

    Fraser

  5. #5

    Default RE: Any SGA DC-9 landinglight fix?

    Hi Fraser,

    No FSX here. Only FS9 all the way. ;-)

    I have solved the problem. But I am not happy about the reason. I have always used the replacement light map "newligth.zip", inorder to get a more realistic landing light beam effect. With that texture bmp, the lights on the SGA plane does not show how they should. But when I changed back to the default texture file, it works,...but those default beams looks just terrible. And they are much to light. :-(

    http://www.scandicair.com/images/sa_banner.gif

    [font color="#216561" size="1" face="verdana"]
    Dell Dimension 4600 P4/2.8 at 3.0 Ghz
    1024 Mb DDR333 Dual channel memory (2x256,1x512)
    AGP 256 Mb ATI Radeon X850 Pro ViVo, flashed to a X850 XT PE.
    Omega 2.6.87 (CAT 5.12)
    DirectX 9.0c
    W XP Home with SP2
    E171FPb Flat panel monitor 17"
    370Gb HD (120 GB Maxtor, 250GB Samsung) 7200rpm ATA
    Lacie 250Gb Extern HD

    Blogg: http://blogg.passagen.se/primeavi
    Files: http://library.avsim.net/search.php?...Go=Change+View

  6. #6

    Default RE: Any SGA DC-9 landinglight fix?

    Glad you found whats causing it. I am curious though why the default one works but the replacement is so skewed. I don't think there was anything done any differently than other planes... that I know of of course as I didn't do the model ;).

    Perhaps contacting the author of the newligth light maps may have an answer or possible solution.

    Fraser

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hastings, MN, 55033
    Posts
    5,800

    Default RE: Any SGA DC-9 landinglight fix?

    It's probably a similar case to the problems people were having with the 727s wingtip lights - in that case, the replacement light effect was simply off-center. I don't think people who do replacement textures often think about how critical proper alignment can be, to be quite honest, which is why I rarely use any - without substantially modifying them myself, anyway.
    My name is Erick Westbrook-Cantu. I used to make flightsim addons. I may or may not endorse this message. I do, however, fully endorse Marshall amplifiers, Gibson guitars, and Tama drums.
    "This town is a dump. I'm never going to Las Vegas again." -Adam Donald Stanger: 1986-2015

  8. #8

    Default RE: Any SGA DC-9 landinglight fix?

    Hey Erick,

    Who woulda thought we'd end up stomping on the old stomping grounds again :)

    Oh well

    Fraser

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    middlesex, ny, usa.
    Posts
    54

    Default RE: Any SGA DC-9 landinglight fix?

    Hi Fraser,
    I just happened to check this thread from a while back... and realized it is YOU and Eric Cantu- THE Eric Cantu---both here at the same time! WOW! I feel like -ready for this ?--I'm listening in on a conversation between 2 of the gods!!



    :-)

  10. Default

    I am curious though why the default one works but the replacement is so skewed. I don't think there was anything done any differently than other planes...

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 42
    Last Post: 10-23-2018, 02:03 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-26-2007, 10:42 AM
  3. ***SGA DC-10-30 Frieghter RELEASED***
    By DanWalloch in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-18-2005, 09:01 AM
  4. SGA releases NEW DC-10-40s!!
    By DanWalloch in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-08-2004, 07:36 PM
  5. Regarding SGA DC-10-30 Award...IMPORTANT
    By OOPS in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-19-2003, 01:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •