Overwhelmed

computeq

Hello,

I am clearly new to flight sims in general and am just seeking advice. I have trialed both FSX and x-plane 11 and want to choose a direction to head. There is so much information even just on this site that i find myself being overwhelmed with how to start. Here is a list of wishes i want to accomplish to fulfill my flight sim experience.

1. Graphical Realism - I have what i think is a plenty powerful enough system Intel I7 with 16 gigs of ram and a GTX 1060 with 6gigs.

2. Learn to fly - I have very little experience with any sims so i would love to learn the real way to fly.

3. physics realism - sort of inline with the previous two i just want things as real as i can get them.

4. Community - I would love to be able to fly with others in a realistic fashion.

Again i just feel like no matter how much research i do i find myself to feel very overwhelmed and am not sure where to start really.

Any advice on which sim i should move towards and possible a list of starting add ons for the things im looking for? Or perhaps maybe even a mentor to take me under their wing "excuse the expression" so i can learn more about this fantastic world that appears to exist.

Again sorry for posting a cry for help but any info would be gratefully appreciated.

Thanks

First of all, Welcome aboard!:pilot: Next, what is that expression??? Oh, yeah...."You'll be sooorrryyy!":eek:

OK, kidding aside, from your list of wants and warrants for Graphical realism. An inexpensive Sim I would recommend FSX-SE or if you love to spend money, then P3D. Plenty of freeware scenery for FSX and some for P3D. Lots of payware scenery for both, as well as aircraft.

FSX has a built-in flying school to learn the basic aspects of flapping your wings and doing pilot related stuff. I have heard that some of the GA flying in X-Plane lacks some realism. FSX or FSX-SE has the Multiplayer experience you are looking for.