FS2004 on a Macbook Pro

epmcinty

Hello everyone,

I am sorry to post something I know has been asked probably various times, but I haven't found anything with my specific specs and also just want to make sure I am doing the right thing with a big process like this. So I used to be an avid flight simmer in high school with a tower that ran fs9 with all the scenery and expansions to max settings on vatsim with other add ons (not that impressive but kept me satisfied). Then private pilot training/junior & senior year happened, and I am now a college student who has been out of flight simming for a few years and all I have is a Macbook pro with these specs:

MacbookPro

13-inch, Mid 2012

Processor: 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5

Memory: 4 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 4000 1024 MB

Software: OS X 10.9.5 (13F34)

So... I know I need to use bootleg to get windows on my macbook is first step. My question is, which operating system version in particular do you think will work/run fs9 the best on a mac? I was thinking Windows 7 from stuff I read. In addition, what other updates and additional downloads will I need to make sure it runs with no errors. I read a few threads where windows wasn't working as instant as some people wanted and they had to jump through various hoops. Also out of curiosity, how do you think it will run? It's going to be a long, yet interesting journey getting back in the virtual cockpit and finding the best expansions to get for modern day 2014 lol.

I really appreciate your time, thanks everyone for your knowledgable input!

-Eamonn

Hi Eamonn,

Welcome to FlightSim.com:D

The boot manager which comes with OSX is called Bootcamp:

https://www.apple.com/uk/support/bootcamp/

It used to be the case that you could install a variety of Windows operating systems on your mac using Bootcamp, but starting with 5 (which is what your system will have), the selection has somewhat narrowed.