Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Troubleshooting Opinion...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI, USA.
    Posts
    99

    Default Troubleshooting Opinion...

    Hey All,

    Built the new system recently, with the help of one of my IT guys here at work, and about one out of 10 times or so, the computer won't post. The fix that has worked has been to swith the Memory sticks...literally, take both out, and swap them.

    Leads me to believe that I either have a bad stick, or a bad Mobo?

    I'm fairly novice in comparison to some of you all, and am going to call newegg.com, but want to know what I should return, if anything.

    Your help as always is greatly appreciated...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Mesquite, Nevada, USA.
    Posts
    3,428

    Default RE: Troubleshooting Opinion...

    Hi Mark,

    Find the EXACT Voltage required by Your OCZ Ram by going to the OCZ Website. - DDR2 800 Ram use's a WIDE range in voltage.


    Then change the voltage on the ram slots (on the motherboard) In BIOS, to match the required voltage.

    Randy Burton

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI, USA.
    Posts
    99

    Default RE: Troubleshooting Opinion...

    Hey Randy,

    Wowzer, didn't even think about that...I'll double check that, and make any necessary changes.

    thanks!!


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI, USA.
    Posts
    99

    Default RE: Troubleshooting Opinion...

    Hello all,

    Per Randy's suggestion...

    OCZ's web-site gives me a range of 1.9-2.1 volts, with an EVP up to 2.2 volts +/- 5% without blowing my warranty.

    I was expecting to find an exact voltage that I should set my BIOS to? So, will the BIOS read a range, or should I just pick the highest voltage I can? Or stay somewhere in the middle?


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Mesquite, Nevada, USA.
    Posts
    3,428

    Default RE: Troubleshooting Opinion...

    Hi Mark,

    Try 2.1 Volts in BIOS - See if that stops the boot error.

    Randy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI, USA.
    Posts
    99

    Default RE: Troubleshooting Opinion...

    Sounds like a good plan Randy!

    Thanks again...

Similar Threads

  1. Help needed troubleshooting.
    By hanman in forum FSX
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-13-2009, 01:55 AM
  2. troubleshooting: where to go from here?
    By mfountain01 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 08-27-2003, 11:13 AM
  3. Tip for better troubleshooting
    By Spongey87 in forum CFS3
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-18-2002, 11:05 AM
  4. Help with troubleshooting
    By KittyMercury in forum FS2002
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-22-2002, 06:34 AM
  5. Troubleshooting...
    By AirMedic in forum FS2002
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-24-2002, 01:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •