Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: What res do you use in FS2004?

  1. #1

    Default What res do you use in FS2004?

    Running a 9700pro on a Sony 19inch monitor.
    Found 1280x960x32 works best.

    Anyone else care to share what setup works best for them?



  2. Default RE: What res do you use in FS2004?

    I get best results from my system at 1280x940x32.

    I actually get the same frame rates if I up the resolution to 1280x1024x32, however my 2-year-old monitor starts to display Moire patterns at that res; sometimes it annoys me, sometimes it doesn't. My next major upgrade will probably be my monitor.

    -- Walt

    Running FS2004 at 1280x940x32

    Intel Pentium 4, 2.0 GHz
    Windows XP Pro
    512MB PC800 RDRAM,8100
    128MB ATI Radeon 9600 Pro
    CATALYST Windows XP 3.9 video driver
    DirectX 9.0b
    19 inch Samsung SyncMaster 955DF Monitor
    Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
    MS ForceFeedback 2 joystick

  3. #3

    Default RE: What res do you use in FS2004?

    I use 1024 x 768 (antialiasing). I don't think I'd want to go higher with my system as it would decrese frame rates greatly I imagine . My 15" LCD monitor can't go higher anyway ;-)


    If I get a new system in months maybe I'll se what the 19" LCD monitors are at then.
    DK ... http://www.flickr.com/photos/the_airfield/
    : AMD Anthlon 64 4000+ (formerly 3200+) : 1.5 GB Ram :
    : HIS Radeon HD2600XT 512MB DDR3 : 15" LCD @ 1024x768 : 4x AA : 8x AF :
    : logitech dual analog gamepad (wired):

  4. #4

    Default RE: What res do you use in FS2004?

    1400x1050x32

  5. #5

    Default RE: What res do you use in FS2004?

    I use 1280x1024x32 since it's the native resolution of my 19" LCD monitor. I also use 4x FSAA and 8X Quality Anisotropic filtering. It's not the correct aspect ratio but the monitor is optimized for this resulution so all other resolutions come out looking wrong when scaled to fit the screen. Some 2d panels also look a bit weird when stretched over the entire screen but it's not a big deal since I use the VC's most of the time.

    I have a 128MB 9700 Pro and a 2.2 GHz AthlonXP.

    A tip for users of ATI cards (Radeon 9500 and up)
    The newer ATI cards don't support super-sampling which means that autogen trees are not anti-aliased. With incorrect settings, the autogen trees will shimmer and flicker. You can reduce this with a few tweaks.
    Since FSAA has no effect on the trees, you will want to use the highest resolution possible. Leave the mipmap slider in FS2004 (not the one in the ATI driver, it should be at best quality) at 4. This gives you nice and sharp scenery textures, but enough mipmap smoothing of the trees to significantly reduce shimmering of autogen tree textures.

    If your monitor does 85 Hz at 1600x1200, use that. The next resolution with a 4:3 aspect ratio is 1280x960 so it's a big jump. With my old 19" CRT (Sony 420GS) I actually used 1600x1200x32, 2x FSAA, 8x Performance Anisotropic filtering even though the monitor only did 75 Hz at this resolution. Users of LCD panels locked at 1280x1024 should stick with this res since it's the native res of the monitor and anything else will look blurry and/or stretched.

  6. #6

    Default RE: What res do you use in FS2004?

    See no reason to go any higher than 1024x768 on 1x19" and 1x17"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Napier, New Zealand.
    Posts
    1,924

    Default RE: What res do you use in FS2004?

    I run at 1024x768 32 on my brand new 19" Philips CRT monitor with a dot pitch of 25mm. Use to run at 800x600 32bit on my old no brand 17" monitor until it blew up. Any higher res and everthing became blurry. Think it had a dot pitch of about 27 28mm.

    Trevor:)
    Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, GTX 560 TI 1GB DDR5 graphics card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit, 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram , Viewsonic VX2233WM LCD 1080P HD Monitor. Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD, 650 watt Corsair PSU

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO, USA.
    Posts
    367

    Default RE: What res do you use in FS2004?

    Well, darn...I'm not sure.

    I just tried 1600x1200x32, all AA off (card and FS9), in full screen mode, with "good" results. Framerates banging the 30fps lock (in flight, at 6500ft.,over some moderately complex texture). No more or less "jaggies" than below settings, that I can tell. There was, however some "flicker" as my monitor will only do 65hz refresh at 1600x1200, and I'm weird that way...I can see "flicker" at anything below 70hz. Go figure.

    I was using 1280x1024x32, with AA and AF on the card (not AA in FS9),in Window mode, with slightly lower FPS (avg. 25, in same flight), no flicker at 75 hz.

    SOooo...the grand experiment continues. And, yes, I am getting tired of messing around with these settings. I spend more time "fooling" with them and reading the forum than actually flying...S-I-G-H! I figure I'll get it right...a week after FS10 is released and I'll require a better system.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Napier, New Zealand.
    Posts
    1,924

    Default RE: What res do you use in FS2004?

    Yes since I got my new monitor everything is alot clearer, and the mip map flickering is barely noticeble, I should say that it is not noticeble anymore. I didn't change any settings from when I had my old monitor. So from my experience if you want to improve your graphics get a new monitor with a dot pitch of 25mm.

    Trevor
    Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, GTX 560 TI 1GB DDR5 graphics card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit, 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram , Viewsonic VX2233WM LCD 1080P HD Monitor. Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD, 650 watt Corsair PSU

  10. #10

    Default RE: What res do you use in FS2004?

    I often fly on my laptop (especially when travelling) and if I set it at anything lower than 1600X1200, the window gets smaller. At that resolution it looks great on my 15 inch UltraXGA LCD monitor. When at home (or work :-)), I put external items (GPS, FSNav, etc) on an external monitor. I take a bit of a frame rate hit (average 25fps), but things look suuuwwweeeeet.

    -Smitty

Similar Threads

  1. FS2004 & FS2004(A Century of Flight)
    By Merv0728 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-22-2004, 10:14 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-17-2004, 11:40 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-07-2003, 07:48 PM
  4. FS2004: YOU MUST SEE THIS FS2004 SHOTS!
    By bofredrik in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-26-2003, 03:44 PM
  5. Screenshots FS2004 in the new FS2004 forum
    By Ronald in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-19-2003, 12:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •