Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: touchdown smoke

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    needham, ma, usa.
    Posts
    153

    Default touchdown smoke

    I dont seem to have consistent touchdown smoke,either there seems to be to much smoke, with smoke swirls and then there is none at all or just a puff. Is there an adjustment that could be made in the fs9 config file or in the aircraft file?? does anyone know how to adust this feature I have reinstalled the original fx file in case something had overwritten it but it made no difference. It seem that the touchdown smoke was more consistent with the original fs9 installation, but with all the new aircraft and scenery files thati have added it seems to have changed..

    Any suggestions would sure be appreciated.

    Larry
    OS Win 7 Pro 64 bit | CPU Intel Core i7-960 O.C. 4.1| Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R | Video Nvidea GeForce GTX 570--Nvidia Driver:270.61- Corsair H70 Water Cooling- RAM G.SKILL PI Series 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 |E: Drive: All FSX SSD 480G OCZ OCZSSD2 |C: Drive 1TB WD | Power Supply: Corsair 750 watt |Case: Thermaltake M9

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Georgia, USA.
    Posts
    93

    Default RE: touchdown smoke

    Larry,

    Look for this section in the aircraft.cfg: (BARON example)

    {EFFECTS}
    wake=fx_wake
    water=fx_spray
    dirt=fx_tchdrt
    concrete=fx_sparks
    touchdown=fx_tchdwn_s, 1

    If this section is not present in a third-party aircraft.cfg the Sim
    will pick a file to use, most likely the big effect for airliners.

    The add-on effects for the DC-3, "DC3_FX.zip" uses the "effects"
    section to specify unique effects just for that AC, as example.

    JR

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    needham, ma, usa.
    Posts
    153

    Default RE: touchdown smoke

    thanks for the info

    I do have touchdown=fx_tchdwn_s, 1. Does the (1) designate the strength of the smoke ?, one of my files show a (3). anyways I will be experimenting with the DC-3 file.

    thanks again

    Larry
    OS Win 7 Pro 64 bit | CPU Intel Core i7-960 O.C. 4.1| Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R | Video Nvidea GeForce GTX 570--Nvidia Driver:270.61- Corsair H70 Water Cooling- RAM G.SKILL PI Series 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 |E: Drive: All FSX SSD 480G OCZ OCZSSD2 |C: Drive 1TB WD | Power Supply: Corsair 750 watt |Case: Thermaltake M9

Similar Threads

  1. Touchdown smoke-GONE
    By eemer in forum FS2004
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-03-2005, 05:40 PM
  2. No touchdown smoke effect
    By timest in forum DreamFleet 727 Support Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-16-2004, 11:11 AM
  3. Smoke on touchdown
    By dauphin44 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-21-2003, 11:37 AM
  4. No touchdown smoke from tires
    By redbird1 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-28-2003, 10:34 PM
  5. Tyre smoke on touchdown
    By neilfking in forum FS2002
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-05-2002, 11:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •