Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Brown Squares on View Change

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas, United States.
    Posts
    50

    Default Brown Squares on View Change

    Attached please see the brown squares that show up everytime I change views from the cockpit. I've adjusted the settings to everything I can think of AF, AA frame rates etc. Any help as to what might be causing this?

    Any help would be welcomed.

    Best regards,




  2. Default RE: Brown Squares on View Change

    i get them to, when changing views in the cockpit, when turning left and right looking out side, but only for a split second, what the heck is that, tried different settings nothing seems to help, i have a P4 2.53ghz, ati 9700 pro, audiology 2, and 1gb ram. maybe its the directx, who knows, i feel like a beta tester, we should be getting pay from microsoft for trying to figure out these, problems.

  3. Default RE: Brown Squares on View Change

    If these are just transient, try increasing the bandwidth setting in fs9.cfg (I took mine from the default 60 to 180).
    Other have gone to 400... not sure that is required..
    It looks like your textures are just loading slowly..

    Bert

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas, United States.
    Posts
    50

    Default RE: Brown Squares on View Change

    >i get them to, when changing views in the cockpit, when
    >turning left and right looking out side, but only for a
    >split second, what the heck is that, tried different
    >settings nothing seems to help, i have a P4 2.53ghz, ati
    >9700 pro, audiology 2, and 1gb ram. maybe its the directx,
    >who knows, i feel like a beta tester, we should be getting
    >pay from microsoft for trying to figure out these, problems.


    Boeingcorp, Thanks for the quick response, yes you are right, they only last for a split second. I'm glad I'm not the only one getting these. I've tried monitor refresh rates from 60Hz to 100Hz, AF off,
    2x,4x and 8X, AA off in sim appl controlled, off, 2x quincunx,4x and 4xS, changed resolution from 800x600x16 all the way to 1600x1200x16 and 32bit. Nothing seems to get rid of them. BTW, I only get them inside the cockpit and not spot view or tower view. You may be right, I am running DX9b and that could be the problem. I haven't tried Directx8.1 yet but have tried several different video drivers from 40.72 to 45.23.

    Maybe someone will have a solution for us.

    Again thanks for the reply.




  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas, United States.
    Posts
    50

    Default RE: Brown Squares on View Change

    >If these are just transient, try increasing the bandwidth
    >setting in fs9.cfg (I took mine from the default 60 to 180).
    >Other have gone to 400... not sure that is required..
    >It looks like your textures are just loading slowly..
    >
    >Bert


    Bert, I guess you are talking about TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT=40. That's what mine showed in the cfg file 40 not the default 60 you were talking about. Anyway, I changed mine to 180 and it seemed to get rid of them almost. Now, they are only a milli milli second. I thank you for pointing us in the right direction. I never thought of texture bandwidth being the problem. I probably will try bumping it up to 200 or so to see if that takes care of them for good. Also should my textures be loading that slow w/ the setup I have? How about AGP Aperture size in the Bios. I have a 128MB Ti4600 and mine are set @ 64MB in the bios. Should I try 128MB AGP Aperture size?

    Anyway, thanks again Bert.

    Regards,



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas, United States.
    Posts
    50

    Default RE: Brown Squares on View Change

    >>If these are just transient, try increasing the bandwidth
    >>setting in fs9.cfg (I took mine from the default 60 to 180).
    >>Other have gone to 400... not sure that is required..
    >>It looks like your textures are just loading slowly..
    >>
    >>Bert
    >
    >
    >Bert, I guess you are talking about
    >TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT=40. That's what mine showed in the
    >cfg file 40 not the default 60 you were talking about.
    >Anyway, I changed mine to 180 and it seemed to get rid of
    >them almost. Now, they are only a milli milli second. I
    >thank you for pointing us in the right direction. I never
    >thought of texture bandwidth being the problem. I probably
    >will try bumping it up to 200 or so to see if that takes
    >care of them for good. Also should my textures be loading
    >that slow w/ the setup I have? How about AGP Aperture size
    >in the Bios. I have a 128MB Ti4600 and mine are set @ 64MB
    >in the bios. Should I try 128MB AGP Aperture size?
    >
    >Anyway, thanks again Bert.
    >
    >Regards,





    Bert & Boeingcorp, I changed my texture_bandwidth_Multi= to 400 and that did it!!!! Boeing corp, you might try this also. I've tested this for several minutes and not one brown square came up, nothing but good textures.

    Regards,


  7. Default RE: Brown Squares on View Change

    I would like to change my bandwidth also but can not find the fs9.cfg file, could you point me there?
    Thanks, DSH

  8. Default RE: Brown Squares on View Change

    I can't find FS9.CFG either. Anyone?

    Thanks

    Jay


  9. Default RE: Brown Squares on View Change

    Answered my own question by searching here in the forums... which I should have done first! Sorry!

    Here is a quote from an FAQ posted in this forum...

    "4. Where did the FS configuration file go?

    For Windows XP users the fs9.cfg file is now located in Drive_Letter:\Documents and Settings\User_Name\Application Data\Microsoft\FS9. This is a hidden folder by default so you need to modify the folder options via the control panel: go to the view tab and check the "Show hidden files and folders" option

    For Windows 9x users the fs9.cfg file is located in Drive_Letter:\Windows\Application Data\Microsoft\FS9

    If you access this file often, you may wish to run a shortcut to it on either your desktop, or in the main Flight Simulator 9 folder".

    There you go.

    Jay




Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-23-2006, 03:00 PM
  2. No more Brown squares
    By Fredla in forum FSX
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-05-2005, 11:20 AM
  3. Brown Squares
    By klf in forum FS2004
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-07-2004, 06:34 PM
  4. Slow Loading Textures Brown Squares
    By j_fuller in forum FS2004
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-09-2004, 08:45 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-29-2003, 11:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •