Thread: What is an ADIZ?

Default What is an ADIZ?

I'm studying for my PPL, and I can't figure out what kind of airspace an ADIZ is. I thought it was some sort of US governed airspace, and you need clearance through it. Looked in the FAR's, still not sure. Can anyone help a fellow pilot out?

Thanks, much appreciated!

|Win7 x64 | Gigabyte P67A UD4 B3 | Intel i5 2500k @ 4.2GHz | eVGA GTX570 1280MB | 2x4 GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance | 1TB Samsung Spinpoint | 120GB Mushin Callisto SSD | 36GB Raptor | 250GB Seagate | Seasonic X750w | Corsair 650D|

Default RE: What is an ADIZ?

Air Defense Identification Zone.
    Here are some clips from the book I have listed below:
    A. National security in the control of air traffic is governed by (FAR Part 99).
    b. All AIrcraft entering the domestic US Airspace from points outside must provide for identifcation prior to entry. To facilitate early aircraft identification of all aircraft in the vicinity of the US and internationa airspace boundaries, AIR Defense Identification Zones (ADIZ) have been established.
    Heres some more from the book:
    AIR DEFENSE IDENTIFICATION ZONE:
    The area of airspace over land or water, extending upward from the surface within which the ready identification, the location, and the control of aircraft are required in the interests of national security.
    a. Domestic AIr Defense identification zone, AN ADIZ within the United States, along an international boundary of the United States.
    b. COastal AIr Defense Identification Zone. An ADIZ over the coastal waters of the UNited States of Alaska.
    c. Distant Early Warning Identification zone (DEWIZ) An ADIZ over the coastal waters of alaska.
    ADIZ locations and operation and flight plan requirements for civil aircraft operation are specified in Part 99.

Its got quite a few pages on National Security and interceptiuon procedures.