Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: If I upgrade...?

1. Default If I upgrade...?

Hey Everyone,
    My framerates in 2004 are around 4.5-10.2 in clear weather! I have almost all sliders on the lowest and this is what I'm getting. Now , I have a 256MB of RAM and have considered upgrading it for better preformance....will that help?...I'm running the simulator on 1.5GHz Intel Pentium 4 Processor and a 32MB nVidia TNT2 M64 graphics card with 32MB SDRAM. I'm not very good with computers so any help/advice would be great! Thanks

Brady

Default RE: If I upgrade...?

>Hey Everyone,
    >I'm running the simulator on 1.5GHz Intel Pentium 4
    >Processor and a 32MB nVidia TNT2 M64 graphics card with 32MB
    >SDRAM.

Upgrade the vid card. Get either a GF4 Ti 4200, or if you want to keep it for a few years try a ATI 9500/9600 Pro.

Cheers!

Luke

3. Default RE: If I upgrade...?

How much would either one of those video cards cost? would it help out my frames at all? could it speed things up?

Brady

I got my GeForce4 Ti4200 128MB DDR RAM for $94 off of eBay. I agree that your video card is the thing for you to upgrade. Good luck!

5. Default RE: If I upgrade...?

The video card upgrade will make the sim LOOK better and increase framerates a tad, but increasing your RAM from 256 to 512 would speed up framerates as well. The RAM would give your processor twice as much to work with and (IMO) increase the framerates significantly. If you can upgrade both you would have a much better sim experience.

Good luck, Al

6. Default RE: If I upgrade...?

Turn off anti aliasing.
    I'm locked at 20 fps which is where it stays
    With anti alisaing On, I drop to 12-14
    1.4 Ghz Athlon GeForce3 64 MB.

With your fps you sound like you are at LAX!

7. Default RE: If I upgrade...?