Editing photoscenery??

martinstebbing

I have never tried to edit photoscenery before and was surprised yesterday to find that my usual editing techniques (using DXTBmp and Photoshop) do not work...

What I wanted to do was remove some flat, 2D aircraft shapes from an airport, since I use the airport for take-off and departure and from the ground these look silly of course. I found the bitmaps with the dark aircraft shadows and simply edited those out with PS. But the plane shapes are still there in FS9. In fact even when I remove the bmp files completely, the dark shapes are still there. Also after quitting and restarting FS9 - even the PC.

Is there a 'trick' to this? Some threads I have read imply it's not possible to do this, but why would that be?

Thanks!

even when I remove the bmp files completely, the dark shapes are still there.

They're not the ones you found in the Photoscenery then, they must be landclass textures for the airport itself or the surrounding area.

Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."

Xbox Series X, Asus Prime H510M-K, Intel Core i5-11400F 4.40GHz, 16Gb DDR4 3200, 2TB WD Black NVME SSD, 1TB Samsung SATA SSD

NVidia RTX3060 Ti 8Gb, Logitech Flight Yoke System, CH Pro Pedals, Acer K272HL 27", Windows 11 Home x64

You're likely going to need to edit the airplanes out of 5 different .bmps, summer, fall, winter, hard winter, and spring (also night for that matter) so chances are you edited fall for example and you're trying to see the result with your sim date set to summer?

They're not the ones you found in the Photoscenery then, they must be landclass textures for the airport itself or the surrounding area.

They are the right bitmaps - if I remove them all from the texture folder, the whole airport is now white.