Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: FSX Night Lighting Problem

  1. #1

    Default FSX Night Lighting Problem

    Hi there,

    I am suddenly having problems with my night lighting in FSX.

    In the last couple of days I have been adjusting my settings to improve my FPS.

    But today, I loaded FSX at HAAB at night-time, and I have no runway lights, no apron lights, and also no lights at any other airports.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fsx_lightproblem.jpg 
Views:	43 
Size:	85.2 KB 
ID:	196979

    Any help is greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    13,948

    Default

    Probably time to go back into those "settings" and change them back. What's better.....slightly higher FPS or airport night lighting?
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  3. #3

    Default

    I'm not even sure what I changed...
    What would cause night lighting to almost disappear completely?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    13,948

    Default

    https://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/showt...airport-lights

    Best that I could come up with! You might, in the future, take the time to write down the changes you make to settings so if they cause an issue, they can be changed back.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Klammath Falls, OR
    Posts
    3,321

    Default

    The lines

    //RUNWAY_LIGHTS_SURFACE_SCALAR=1.27 //scales edge, center, end, touchdown, runways
    //RUNWAY_LIGHTS_VASI_SCALAR=0.77 // scales VASI lights)
    //RUNWAY_LIGHTS_APPROACH_SCALAR=0.77 // scales approach light bars
    //RUNWAY_LIGHTS_STROBE_SCALAR=0.77 //scales RAILs and ODALs) 262144

    under the heading [Display] are the lines in your FSX.cfg that control the lights. There is a short explanation of what each line controls in the lines above. I made mine a little unbalanced, as you see above, so I can see the carrier lights better. Just for my set-up, though.

    I would start with all lines set to 1.0 and adjust from there. A type of light is too bright, make the number smaller, like 0.8 . Too dim, make it larger, like 1.2 .
    Make back-ups of the .cfg file as you go. This will prevent what seems to have happened to you. At the very worst, you can just go back to the backed up .cfg file that worked before you made a change, and proceed from there. At the very very very wurst, just rename your FSX.CFG file to FSX_BAK.cfg or something similar, and restart FSX. It will then create a new .cfg file, with all default settings restored, and you can then start from the beginning. Again. It happens.
    Bear in mind that for changes to the .cfg to become effective, you need to shut down FSX completely, and re-start it, not just restart a plane or flight. The whole sim.

    Good luck!
    Pat☺

    Had a thought...then there was the smell of something burning, and sparks, and then a big fire, and then the lights went out! I guess I better not do that again!
    Sgt, USMC, 10 years proud service, Inactive reserve now

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    13,948

    Default

    I agree with Pat! This is how mine are set up under [Display]

    RUNWAY_LIGHTS_APPROACH_SCALAR=1.2
    RUNWAY_LIGHTS_STROBE_SCALAR=1.0
    RUNWAY_LIGHTS_SURFACE_SCALAR=1.2
    RUNWAY_LIGHTS_VASI_SCALAR=1.2
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  7. #7

    Default

    Ok, I don't know what else to do.

    I didn't have those sections in my FSX.cfg, so I added them myself, and it didn't work.

    I have also tried:
    • Replacing the halo texture
    • Deleting my CFG and letting FSX rebuild it
    • Replacing the CFG with an older backup

    Aside from a clean reinstall (please no), I don't know what else to do.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Klammath Falls, OR
    Posts
    3,321

    Default

    Everybody's will be different, depending on their personal taste, should they choose to change this particular section of the FSX.cfg file.
    Actually, once you start making changes to the FSX.CFG, it can become an unending task. You'll read about a new tweak someone found to try, or a new entry that changes something for the better. It just keeps on going
    Anyway, enjoy!
    Pat☺

    Had a thought...then there was the smell of something burning, and sparks, and then a big fire, and then the lights went out! I guess I better not do that again!
    Sgt, USMC, 10 years proud service, Inactive reserve now

  9. #9

    Default

    Is there something else I can try?
    I still have no airport lights.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  10. #10

    Default

    Ok, I am officially out of ideas.

    Even a reinstall didn't fix the problem.

    I don't know what else to try.

    At this point, I am willing to try any suggestion anyone might have.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Night Lighting (FSX + SketchUp + ADE + ModelConverterX)
    By supamonkey2000 in forum Scenery Design
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-19-2015, 09:34 AM
  2. FSX - improved scenery night lighting?
    By palladin123 in forum FSX
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-17-2012, 08:15 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-29-2011, 06:55 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-29-2011, 08:03 PM
  5. VC lighting at night Is this a Win 7 problem?
    By dizzyfingers55 in forum FSX
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-28-2009, 06:18 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •