Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: help with DX10 preview toggle

  1. Default help with DX10 preview toggle

    Hi all,

    Recently I rediscovered my old copy of FSX and I thought I'd fire it up again. After reading a number of threads on this forum and other, I realise you can gain significant improvements on performance and display.
    I wanted to explore the DX10 fixer and found there was a preview option in acceleration and SP2 (correct me if wrong).

    First question - I presume you need to have the preview toggled on to apply the fixer?

    I downloaded the SP1 and SP2 packs from Microsoft and installed both.
    However I cannot see any dx10 preview toggle button

    I checked the fsx.cfg file, which contained no D3D10 entry, so I added it D3D10=1
    Still nothing

    Removed the dxgi.dll file - albeit the only one I could find was in the system32 folder
    no change

    Updated the Nvidia graphics drivers to the latest 376.84 version

    I couldn't find any SweetFX software and I haven't downloaded it as far as I'm aware.

    Any help would be great

    Specs below -

    OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Enterprise
    Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
    System Model Precision M6700
    System Type x64-based PC
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820QM CPU @ 2.70GHz, 2701 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)
    Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 32.0 GB
    Total Physical Memory 31.9 GB
    Available Physical Memory 26.9 GB
    Total Virtual Memory 63.9 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 58.9 GB

    Quadro K5000M
    DX11
    CUDA Cores 1344
    Graphics clock 601MHz
    Memory daya rate 3000MHZ
    Memory interface 256bit
    Memory bandwodth 96GB/s
    Total available graphics 20193
    dedicated video memory 4096 mb GDDR5

    If there is anything missing please let me know

    any help appreciated

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    13,545

    Default

    If you have the DX10 preview box it will be hiding in the FSX/Settings/Customize/Graphics tab sitting on top of Light Bloom and lens flare.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  3. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrzippy View Post
    If you have the DX10 preview box it will be hiding in the FSX/Settings/Customize/Graphics tab sitting on top of Light Bloom and lens flare.
    Thanks for the quick reply. Unfortunately it's missing from here

  4. #4

    Default

    Hi,
    I'm almost certain it's there just as MrZippy stated but you may be overlooking it. If it's not there, then you need to do a repair of your FSX installation.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DX10Screenshot.PNG 
Views:	16 
Size:	222.3 KB 
ID:	196555

  5. Default

    For fsx to use dx 0 some things are required.
    read this post by StringBean.
    http://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/showth...62#post1849962

  6. Default

    Thanks again for the replies.
    No, the Preview DirectX 10 toggle doesn't as per iflygary's image. It is just a blank space. I may try a fresh install. Someone mentioned in the link il88pp posted, the program has to run after each pack install. I updated back to back.
    I'll let you know how it goes.

    thanks again

  7. Default

    Just to confirm, I have all the steps covers in StringBean's checklist.
    The only thing I'm not 100% on is the graphics adaptor. However I'm pretty certain the Nvidia Quadro K5000m should support this.
    I'm running dx11 currently, I believe this is back compatible as well.

  8. Default

    does add/remove programs look like this?
    http://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/showth...70#post1877870

  9. Default

    oddly enough I have two instances of fsx

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	11 
Size:	41.0 KB 
ID:	196556

  10. Default

    zippy has fsx standard.
    and win XP
    that's probably the difference.

    For me it looks different also. I havs fsx accel.

    right click your fsx.exe file - select propertires - select details.
    look at the version number. I think for fsx deluxe plus sp2 it should be: 10.0.61472
    found that here:
    http://www.fsdeveloper.com/forum/thr...version.84549/

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-07-2016, 08:19 AM
  2. need help with DX10 preview lights.
    By CessnaFlyer in forum FSX
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 09-04-2013, 05:24 PM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-04-2011, 06:06 AM
  4. Acceleration DX10 Preview?
    By robains in forum FSX
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2007, 01:16 PM
  5. What is DX10 Preview?
    By dcmiller58 in forum FSX
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-31-2007, 05:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •