Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: How to make FS2004 Run on windows 10?

  1. Question How to make FS2004 Run on windows 10?

    I have tried the no-cd patch reinstalling the program and updating it still no avail if there a fix please tell me thanks! (Its a 4 cd)

  2. #2

    Default

    You would need to tell us the symptoms of it's failure?
    Tom Gibson

    CalClassic Propliner Page: http://www.calclassic.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    660

    Default

    There's a Windows 10 forum over at AVSIM which should have all the answers for you:

    http://www.avsim.com/forum/731-win10-os-forum/

  4. Default

    here's one thing i noticed.

    When starting a flight there is no plane preview so i cant see how the plane looks like its a pitch black screen which hides my cursor when moving through it.

    Also if i do Alt + Tab or something similar it jams and requires hard doing around n blah blah yeah its difficult to get out of it.

    Heres however specs for my PC: (its very bad)
    DX12
    2GB VRAM
    8GB RAM
    2.40 GHZ (2.80 overclocked which it isnt)
    17 Inch screen (Its a laptop)
    Build 1607 of windows.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Pontefract, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    689

    Default

    A possible cause for this is that the current install of the DirectX (DX) V9 (required by FS2004 to run) has become corrupted or is incomplete. How you got W10 (either as upgrade or new install) will also have an impact. By default W10 ships only with V11 and 12 so if you

    A. Upgraded from an older win version using the 'keep current settings' option - it would have kept the older versions of DX BUT there is a known issue whereby it/they can become corrupted by the W10 upgrade process.

    B Upgraded from an older win version using the 'clean install' option - all previously installed versions of DX will have been deleted and only V11 and 12 installed.

    In both cases, when you then re-installed FS2004 it would have updated/installed the version that is included on the CDs, which is way out of date and incompatible with W10.

    Download the latest version of the Direct X V9 redistribution package directly from here -

    Install using admin rights. It will detect the current install and will offer two options; a full install or a repair. Using the repair option such be sufficient as it will check the current install and then add any new/missing files and replace any corrupted/out of date files. After you have install it reboot the rig.

    Note that by installing V9 it will not alter any other version of Direct X you have installed.
    Regards

    Brian

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Southern California, not far from KSNA
    Posts
    591

    Default

    I read these recent postings with interest, because I too have FS9 and a clean-sheet Windows 10 installation. For me, the no-cd crack worked.
    However, as I've noted elsewhere, none of my Windows 10 has any sound whatsoever. Hence I do my FS9 piloting in silence.
    From what I gather, I am not alone in this soundless W10. Alas, various "fixes," including those suggested by MS, have had any effect so far.

  7. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by longbreak754 View Post
    A possible cause for this is that the current install of the DirectX (DX) V9 (required by FS2004 to run) has become corrupted or is incomplete. How you got W10 (either as upgrade or new install) will also have an impact. By default W10 ships only with V11 and 12 so if you

    A. Upgraded from an older win version using the 'keep current settings' option - it would have kept the older versions of DX BUT there is a known issue whereby it/they can become corrupted by the W10 upgrade process.

    B Upgraded from an older win version using the 'clean install' option - all previously installed versions of DX will have been deleted and only V11 and 12 installed.

    In both cases, when you then re-installed FS2004 it would have updated/installed the version that is included on the CDs, which is way out of date and incompatible with W10.

    Download the latest version of the Direct X V9 redistribution package directly from here -

    Install using admin rights. It will detect the current install and will offer two options; a full install or a repair. Using the repair option such be sufficient as it will check the current install and then add any new/missing files and replace any corrupted/out of date files. After you have install it reboot the rig.

    Note that by installing V9 it will not alter any other version of Direct X you have installed.
    Still wont work...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Pontefract, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    689

    Default

    @ SlimeyFlighter213.....

    Other solutions to try:

    Update your video drivers.
    Go to FS2004 settings (hardware tab) and make sure that the sim display resolution is the same as your normal display settings.

    @ EngEd..........

    Have you looked within Device Manager to see if there is a problem with your sound device. When you open Device Manager it will automatically open (expand) any main entry problem area - the problem item within the main entry will have a little icon by it.

    However, that said, a possible solution that may work for you. What does appear to be a common issue WRT Win 10 sound issues such as yours, which I discovered when helping a family friend to resolve similar sound issues, is that the RealTek drivers seem to get deleted, especially when the upgrade method is used. It maybe worth you downloading/installing the drivers from http://www.realtek.com/downloads/dow...&GetDown=false - read/ignore the blurb on the landing page and click on the next button. On the new page look at the top two entries of the table and select the appropriate option for your OS - click on the 'Global' link to download.
    Last edited by longbreak754; 02-07-2017 at 12:36 PM.
    Regards

    Brian

  9. Default

    Nope still having issues i am starting to think no one has awnsers now im pretty much dead at this point if you think you got more fixes tell me.

  10. Default

    Make sure you're running in windowed mode. At least in Win10, full-screen mode is a no-go. Too much hassle...
    Best regards from Colombia,
    Luis Hern√°ndez

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-11-2016, 11:45 AM
  2. Windows 8.1 and Windows 10 and X-plane 10
    By flightsimjarfe in forum X-Plane Screen Shots And Videos
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-17-2015, 07:09 PM
  3. Windows 7, Windows 8.1, Windows 10
    By Timberleaf in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-27-2015, 10:41 AM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-01-2012, 05:25 PM
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-11-2002, 07:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •