Flight Levels In The Real World...

I am a Flight Sim pilot ONLY. So, please forgive my ignorance:o. Recently I wanted to fly the sim from Denver (KDEN) to Las Vegas (KLAS). Since I wanted to "fly" as realistically as possible, I went to Flight Aware for some tips regarding speed, altitude, etc. I noticed that a 737 flew the route at an altitude of 40,000 feet. Also, an Airbus flew the same route at FL 380.

My question is: Why do the pros fly so high for such a short distance (628sm). I always thought that the shorter the distance, the lower the altitude. :confused:

P.S. Of course, there are mountains in the Denver area, and high elevations around Vegas...Is that it:confused:

I'll give it a try...

For the most part, jet engines tend to be more efficient at higher Altitudes, so I would surmise that Pilots will try to get up high pretty quickly. Also, since they're flying a flight plan using specific high altitude Jetways, they would want to get there quickly.

Be advised... I'm a neophyte when it comes to flying Tubeliners so there are probably better answers out there... one reason why I shy away from flying the Big Iron.

Not to say I would love to figure it out, though; Adjust the Weight & CG prior to Takeoff, then Climb straight out, or perform a step climb to Altitude? What about Descending for Landing... when do I start, and do I step or drop like a rock?

Eager to learn,

Alan :pilot:

Cubbies or Dodgers... Tribe or the Jays? Personally, I'd like the Cubbies vs. The Tribe...

"I created the Little Black Book to keep myself from getting killed..." -- Captain Elrey Borge Jeppesen

AMD 1.9GB/8GB RAM/AMD VISION 1GB GPU/500 GB HDD/WIN 7 PRO 64/FS9 CFS CFS2

COSIM banner_AVSIM3.JPG