Thinking About Beginning Flight Simulation?

Jim Hall

If you are planning to do Flight Simulation and are exploring about to see what you can find out then I have some observations as a relative newbie myself just out of basic training. You will not be able to buy software and flight controls and fly. No matter what you hear to the contrary you will need a gaming computer and flight controls and instruments and special knowledge. What is that? A $3,000 computer built to run graphics and scenery that make simming enjoyable. You will need to know more than the average person about software and hardware—much more. Forum help is often to purchase software designed to change your existing software, to add coding, or write a patch, or change “00” to “01” on a line of code. You mess it up, sorry for you. Your flight controls may not work right. You will need to adjust settings and readjust settings and then do it all over again for another airplane. The missions are difficult because they are often not working correctly. Your learning curve on how to be a pilot, learning FSX, learning Saitek, CH and your new computer and Windows 10 will be steep. You will feel stupid and maybe quit in frustration not knowing how to get your money back for the goodies you bought. There are no volunteer, or paid, “Geek Squads” you can call to remote to your computer to help you with FSX, Saitek,CH, or anything else directly related to simming. There is a hierarchy of simmers with real pilots who also know computer programming and have long experience with simming at the top. Then the middle that have some idea about flying and computers, and then you and me. If you are relatively wealthy then you can work your way through the learning curves and build a nice cockpit. If you are not wealthy then you must be really smart with computers and software, or lastly you need to be really, really patient. If you are thinking to spend a few hundred dollars and learn to sim then think again. Having sai