Yet another frame rate improvement thread...

Guest TheSkiMC

Guest TheSkiMC

Hello all, I've been playing flight sim for around 6 months now and I really enjoy it, love flying aircraft like the Dash 8, and PMDG NGX and T7 (I'd like to fly the Airbus too but performance is just too bad). However, a few years back when I first invested in a PC, flight sim was not considered (TBH I didn't know it was a thing) so my hardware definitely struggles. I can get around 40 fps (internally limited for smoothness) in external views, and around 20 fps max in internal views, however this is on very low graphics settings and almost unreadable textures.

I would like to invest some money into getting better, more consistent frame rates, however I'm unsure as to how to go about this. Here's my current specs to the best of my knowledge.

GIGABYTE GA-78LMT-USB3 Motherboard

AMD FX6300 6-core 3.5GHz (can be overclocked but I ain't got a clue what I'm doing)

AMD Radeon R7 240 2GB (downgraded driver because apparently the latest hates FSX)

8GB DDR3 RAM

Some 1TB HDD that I couldn't tell you the specs of

FSX:SE somewhat tweaked

Could you please guide me in the direction of a new graphics card / processor / ram / storage drive? I don't know where to start in the market, not even the brand, cause it's so huge and varied.

Budget wise I'd rather not spend more that £100 if possible but I might be able to stretch to £150, £200 if completely necessary.

Thanks very much,

Calum.

There is no hardware there capable of PMDG+sceneries+sliders even if you spend L2000, so save the money or donate to incoming immigrants, or give it to Merkel or Erdogan, they'll know what to do with it ))))))))

I hope the upcoming Kaby lake CPU will bring some improvement over 4790k and with it an almost satisfactory experience, although I believe we are another 5 years off, and by 2020 we shall be ok.